Various experiences mining for Bitcoins and other altcoins

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

First 14 days of mining


I have been mining for almost two weeks now, basically continuous since I discovered MinerGate, ccminer and NiceHashMiner (original post: https://steemit.com/mining/@jonrhythmic/help-picking-first-mining-rig-setup) and I have gained some valuable experiences.

First of all, mining wouldn't be profitable with my current setup (Gigabyte P34 gaming laptop) even running 24-7. I have mined around $2.19 (0.00086551 BTC) in two weeks using NiceHashMiner (https://www.nicehash.com/?p=nhmintro), which would make for a payout (minimum $20) between November this year and July next year, depending on the Bitcoin price rate.

I have also mined around 0.00025291 BTC in various other currencies using MinerGate (https://minergate.com/a/47cd4476d1e9e26529f9baef) which I could exchange into cash or other currency when the price is in favour for making a profit.

Secondly the strain on my poor laptop is almost to much for it to handle. I measure a GPU temprature between 87-92 ℃ constantly, which has left burnmarks on my desk and even caused my mousepad to overheat and stop working for a while.

Given these mining results the most lucrative option for making cryptocurrencies I have tried so far is posting on Steemit!


Exploring other options

Bitcoin.com (https://pool.bitcoin.com/index_en.html) offers lifetime cloud mining contracts, atleast until it isn't profitabel anymore. I signed up for a 2TH/s lifetime plan for $298, which generates ~ $1-2 per day, paid directly to my bitcoin wallet once a week. This would turn a profit after 300 days. All stats and mining details can be administrated via the websites dashboard.

microhash.net (https://www.microhash.net/?ref=8882) is a free cloud mining service that promises 10 KH/s for free, and offers extra 6% hashing power for any referrals you bring in, then 2.5% and 1.5% extra hashing power for any referrals your referrals bring in. I signed up for this a few days ago, so have not had much time exploring it. Offers to upgrade hashing power payed for by using you current balance and is administrated via a detailed dashboard on their website. The affiliate program gives increased hashing power only when your referral(s) have upgraded their own hashing power.
NB! This website is very new and has an unknown rating on https://www.scamadviser.com. Please use caution and sign up at your own risk!

txmine.com (http://txmine.com?ref=jonrhythmic) is another new cloud based mining service that offers mining for 7 of the most popular coins like Bitcoins, Litecoins, Dogecoin and Zcash, and even lets you mine for hash power. Coins mined can be exchanged to other currencies internally on the page, and can be withdrawn after mining a minimum of 12 BlackCoin, 0.01 Zcash, 50 ReddCoin, 0.005 Bitcoin, 12 Dogecoin, 0.001 Dash, 0.01 Litecoin. Offers 10% of mining power your referral(s) exchange into mining power for affiliates.
NB! This page doesn't have a SSL certificate and will not let you view the terms and conditions. Please use caution and sign up at your own risk!

These three cloud mining options saves the strain on my computer and saves a lot on the electricity bill, but would not make me rich anytime soon.

Have any thoughts or experience you would like to share? Leave them in the comments below!

Don't forget to upvote and follow me @jonrhythmic

Sort:  

good luck, I know very little about the subject, but am picking up bits and pieces since joining steemit, peace!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47