Help picking first mining rig setup

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

I've been thinking about setting up my own mining rig to get more out of speculating in online currencies. No prior experience with this, so it's learning as I go. 

Current setup and first attempt

I've dipped into the water by overclocking my GPU using MSI Afterburner (https://www.msi.com/page/afterburner), then running 4x instances of NiceHace Miner (https://github.com/nicehash/NiceHashMiner/releases) on my Nvidia GTX 860m laptop card at around 70 H/s on CryptoNight, while running MinerGate (https://minergate.com/downloads/gui) in the background on top of that. 

Had some issues with MinerGate 64-bit version which freezes on high CPU temperatures, and now will not start at all, but switching to 32-bit binaries solved the issue (for now!). Problem is I can no longer mine for ETC and ETH, which was one of the things I was looking to do. 

So I have begun thinking about setting up a first dedicated mining rig. 


Searching for opinions and tips online I've found two possible solutions, one is to buy a fully geared rig with multiple GPUs and two is to start easy with multiple GekkoScience Asic Rev 2 USB running at 16 GH/s in an USB charger adapter. 

Not sure if I want to put to much money into this, so should I go for the $200 add-on for my laptop or invest the time and extra money in a long term setup.

Leave a comment if you have any thoughts.

Sort:  

@jonrhythmic, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
You can click on your award to jump to your Board of Honor

Once again, thanks for your support!

Congratulations @jonrhythmic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Whatever you build, I would recommend using your CPU to mine #Gridcoin (and your GPU if you want, but admittedly Gridcoin isn't profitable for GPUs right now -- but if you're in it for science you should definitely use your GPU for Gridcoin anyway). Take a look around our substeem and let me know if you have any questions!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58400.82
ETH 2567.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38