GPU Cryptocurrency Mining - MSI GeForce GTX 970 Gaming Card

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

A true workhorse for cryptocurrency mining, the MSI GeForce GTX 970 Gaming GPU is fast and reliable.

970.jpg

I bought this graphics card in December 2015 as a Christmas present for my teenage son, an avid gamer. It turned out to be a gift for me as well. In addition to receiving his old GTX 760 GPU card as a hand me down (see my post about the 760 here) I was able to use this new card for mining whenever he was not gaming.

970box.jpg

The MSI GeForce GTX 970 Gaming card uses the Nvidia Geforce GTX 970 graphic processor chip and comes with 4GB of GDDR5 memory. It is packed with 1664 Cuda cores and a core clock speed of 1140 Mhz. There are two 12V power connectors, one 8 pin and one 6 pin, so you need at least a 500 watt power supply to run this card. The 970 is based on the Maxwell architecture, which means it delivers a lot of power for the amount of energy consumed, an extremely important feature in cryptocurrency mining.

Originally, I mined Etherium and other coins based on the Ethash algorithm, and the 970 did extremely well. But lately, Whattomine.com reports that Equihash based coins are the most profitable to mine with this GPU. Since Whattomine.com does not have the 970 as a predefined option, I had to gather sample hashrates myself for the algorithms I was interested in and plug them into the web form as I did below.

970what.JPG

Whattomine will then display the most profitable coins to mine with the 970. As shown below, Hush, which was initially developed by Steemit's own @joseph, is currently the most profitable followed by several other Equihash based coins.

970coins.JPG

Below is a screen shot showing this card in action mining Hush using EWBF's CUDA Zcash miner.

970hash.JPG

Recently Nvidia has released a new line of GPU chips based on the Pascal architecture. Coming soon I'll be posting about one of the new extremely powerful cards based on these chips.

Until next time...

Sort:  

you sure that you bought this card in 1995? lol
in 1997 i remember i wanted 3dfx voodoo 16 mb video card. And here is some kind of beast

also edit http://whattomine.com/ link its without e ;)

Lol, I guess my age is showing, I still haven't adjusted to it being the 21st century yet. Thanks for pointing that out, I've correct it now.

This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator - Your Quality Content Curator - To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

its amazing graphics card, best ever for playing pc games.

That's exactly what my son said, until he saw the new line of Nvidia 1000 series cards.

its looks pretty good sounds, thanks.

Nice card, did you make any money mining Etherium with it?

Over several months I mined about a dozen or so ETH and over 150 EXP. So I was able to more than break even on the card and electricity.

Great video card, good to see the profit returning to mining.

The increase in prices definitely is helping.

Per day how much you have mined

Right now I'm making about $1 a day profit with this card.

Mmm whats the profit ratio with this card? As my pc stands idle like 15 hours a day and i could maybe get my graph card to get me some coins. (i have the same one in my desktop).

Right now this card makes me a profit of about $0.75 a day. But I have fairly expensive electricity at about $0.14 a kwh. Fortunately we are exiting summer surcharge rates this month so electricity costs are dropping a little.

ok tnx, i have launch my NiceHash Miner again. Just wondering how you mine? Do you use a tool or did you follow a guide to directly mine? Because the nicehash wil probably take a fee i believe ;)

Nicehash does take a fee, but it's not much more than what most pools charge. I use Nicehash on occasion, when I can't monitor the best coins to mine for an extended time. For me, the big question is, do I want paid in bitcoin, or do I want altcoins that I can hold or sell when the price (hopefully) rises and increase my profit. Which is why, I helped my son, who is away at college, set his computer up to use Nicehash so he doesn't need to worry about all the setups and coin prices and just collects bitcoin.

i see tnx for the info.

I want to get involved in mining if it's profitable, just don't know much about the business.

It can certainly be profitable. A lot depends on what direction cryptocurrencies head and new coins and algorithms being developed that support mining.

Seems like it worked out for you pretty well :)

Yes, it worked out great!

Nice its amazing graphics card,,,,,,.....

Used to be one of the best, but is still good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55