DAG Epoch - Is It Too Big for Your GPU?

in #mining7 years ago

As of now, January 16, 2017 the DAG size for Ethereum (ETH) is 2.28GB. Why is this important?, the DAG size determines if a GPU can mine a particular currency or not.

The current DAG size for ETH is 2.28GB, which means GPUs with memory size of 2GB can not mine ETH. However, a 2GB GPU can still mine Musicoin, Expanse, Ubiq & Soilcoin.

According to https://investoon.com/tools/dag_size, 4GB GPUs won't be able to mine ETH in 3 years, 6GB GPUs in 7 years, and 8GB GPUs in 10 years.

This calculator is only an estimate of when a GPU may be obsolete, but depending on how fast each block is mined a 4GB GPU may still be useful well past 3 years. So if you're like me and would like to prepare (as much as possible) for the worst, I personally would stick with 8GB GPUs just to be on the safe side. If 8GB GPUs aren't available 6GB GPUs would be sufficient.

Here's a little status update of what I have mined, coming close to 1/2 an ETH, WHOO!!

I ran into some problems here and there. On January 12th, Windows decided to randomly freeze on me for an hour and I decided to diagnose the problem, which gave me a blank screen for 10-20 minutes. I got scared and reverted everything back to the way it was and gave up. Instead of fixing or finding out the random freeze problem I'm thinking about investing in a WIFI Smart Outlet Plug so I can just restart the computer when I'm away from home.

Thanks for visiting.

Sort:  

Congratulations @gam9p! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @gam9p! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58402.42
ETH 2727.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34