Steem v0.16.1 Brief Mining Guide

in #mining7 years ago (edited)

// 2017-01-15 Update: title and steps updated to v0.16.1

Everyone can mine, the only requirement is a good Internet connection, plus a working node (check this post).

(There is a bug in the code, so let's exploit it.)

Steps:

  • Build (patched code):
git clone https://github.com/steemit/steem.git
cd steem
git checkout v0.16.1
git remote add abit https://github.com/abitmore/steem.git
git fetch abit
git merge -m "merge" abit/v0.16.0-mining-shorcut-1
git submodule update --init --recursive
...

Happy mining!

Sort:  

Going to give this a try tomorrow, does it run the new Algo? Thought we were on equihash now.

I should be getting more than 0 hps on a laptop right?

That message doesn't matter. It's OK to ignore it.

I read that a 0 meant you weren't mining and a 1 meant you were. In my system monitor the cores are flat...

Are there any active chats for mining help?

On https://steemit.chat/ , the #mining channel and/or #witness channel.

Current situation (v0.16.0 with my patch) is, you need to have good internet connection and have a little luck to be able to get some Steem Power by mining. Mining with lots of nodes (servers or VPS's) all over the world would help as well, but it may or may not be profitable.

Profit is not my main motivation, I like the process. My account was created through steemit.com will I need to create a new one to mine?

i wish i understood how this works well enough. mining steem, does it mean creating one's own steem?

kk i will read all, i am in the dummy category! thank you for your help so far!

Good Post, @abit !!!

This is simple. Thank you for making this accessible @abit.

Thank you very much. This and the shared-file thing in /dev/shm fixed my mining problems. 😎

Good to know those work for you ;)

Just found my first pow in a linux vm using this patched code. Thank you very much!

exelent....

I would be interested in mining if I had any idea how to do it. I'll give these a read when I have a chance to sit.

I'm getting errors about half way throught he blockchain. tried running twice now, each time it ran for many hours then came up with the same issue. any ideas what i am doing wrong? .......
I'm running ubuntu on vmware on a windows box. I used the links provided above. the only other thing i did was download a recent copy of the blockchain (i kept my original config file from your patched download)

The "bind" issue is strange. I think you need to restart steemd, and perhaps better to follow the new steps (just updated to v0.16.1).

According to your logs, the node was still syncing, so perhaps your "recent copy" is not working (only a copy made by v0.16.x node will work).

Warning! mining STEEM is not possible anymore.
Save your time.

Can I mine STEEM?
No. Proof of work mining has been removed from Steem.
https://steemit.com/faq.html#Can_I_mine_STEEM

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36