Any Minimalists Here?

in #minimalism8 years ago (edited)

My husband @robsteady and I are minimalists. He wears the same thing every day (grey shirt, black pants. . .each he has about 3 of). We each have our clothes in a drawer each. People don't get it, but we don't really need a lot.

A huge reason why we are the way we are is because we believe highly in wearing clothing that are ethically created or Fair Trade. It is great to know that our slavery footprint is smaller and smaller each year. You can find out how many slaves you own here: http://slaveryfootprint.org/

I recently posted about how I used to be a vintage fashion blogger, and I owned tons of clothes. Spending money on a dress per week was a habit of mine. I now only own two dresses, and it is okay. My fancy dress for events and my cute vintage 70s sundress that I can wear layered if I need.

IMG_0304c68b6.md.jpg pumpkinpatchb17ee.jpg

We went through a huge haul of our possessions over the past couple of years. While owning things is not a bad thing in our minds, we just want to own what we use regularly or need. Other things we cut out to save money. For instance, we use a crank laundry machine that saved us nearly $40 of laundromat money per month. Now I make my own laundry detergent and clean my own clothes and dry them at home (been doing that for nearly a year).

Oh my, what an attractive still of me..

I'd love to hear how others have been cutting down or things they might enjoy doing in their own form of minimalism or simple living way of life

Sort:  

minimalism is beautiful

I like it!
Btw, Steve Jobs also wore the same outfit every day ;)

Yeah. He and others called it a "uniform."
Thanks!

Ah, this post.

justicepirate
You are cute
Good photos

Nice that there are people in the world, who live as deemed appropriate and acceptable for themselves.
Good luck to you :)

(If there are errors - english is not my native language)

You did a great job! I wish I knew another language!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27