Things I considered when I started Minimalism Style of Living

in #minimalism7 years ago

Today I am going to share some knowledge on minimalism, I know it is completely different from my core subject, but it is good to have a mix of different concepts. I adopted this kind of living when I was much stressed out with a lot of trivial things at my home. So, I found a great concept then. I would like to share many tips on adopting minimalism that helps you too to get a beautiful life. However, I am not saying the style of living is the only way to get happiness in the home, but it's just a concept which worked for many and may work for you too.

Image Credits

Minimalism is not just getting things away

The usual misconception about the minimalism is people often think that we should get rid of everything or at least majority things. It's not true. It just says to get rid of any duplicates and unwanted stuff which we can live comfortably without using those things. For example, if we have three items where one is entirely enough then get rid of it. So the concept is clear now right.

Make a habit of watching minimalist books and videos often

This helps a lot. When I wanted to start the style of living, I only knew about the name and little information on that. So, I inclined to watch videos and books on minimalism. I learned a lot reading books about the concept. Step by step through books and videos I reach the destination I always wanted. Why don't you try it out?

Its just you

Some of your family members don't want to be a minimalist, but rather they prefer to be a maximalist. It happens for some people. Don't lose your hope. Let them be maximalist. It's not a bad thing right. But the real focus must be on you. Buy less stuff, don't purchase unnecessary things. Make your home or even your space clean. Someday they may get impressed by you, and they may be likely to switch to minimalism because it is a great concept that everyone would love to do it. The most famous and the beautiful thing about it is you can make your own rules. It doesn't have any rules and regulations checklist. Afterall it's just your life right. Living happily is the key.

Build a hobby

If you have a hobby for example music, you will never want to go shopping when you get bored. Yes, some people go shopping when they are tired or unhappy. But, if you have a hobby like playing the guitar as I do, you can automatically grab your guitar and play and enjoy whenever you are dull. Hobby is the only thing which relaxes us when we are in a terrible mood. The hobby maybe even dancing, photography or anything. But keep in mind that doesn't incline to buy unnecessary stuff which improves your hobby. There is always an efficient way to deal everything.

Identifying things that make you buy useless things

You must be watching some Instagram pics of your friends wearing the lovely beautiful dress which you wanted so badly. Or you have a habit of looking online shopping apps more often, which makes you buy things. So, first get to know the trigger which triggers you to purchase the stuff. If you can find that, then you can easily get rid of it.

Just satisfy with what you have

Be grateful for whatever you have. Do not allow yourself to lose hope thinking that I have only a few items in my room. That's fine. You have all that you wanted. Give gratitude to everything you have when you're in this style. Because you probably end up with very least number of items in your home. So love them. Enjoy them.

Sort:  

I totally agree with you. Minimalism in our life could make a huge difference. I saw that the first time when I moved to a house with so many little ornaments, pictures on walls, flowers, and everything. In already small space it felt so crowded. I decided to gradualy get rid of unnecesary things... It wasn't hard for the things that was there before and didn't have any sentimental value. But when I came to my things, especialy the ones that were with me for the majority of my life, it was whole another story. Maybe one day I will get to that minimalistic home that I wish. But for now I'm celebrating every small step. :)

We are often unconscious of this fact: all the objects in our house occupy mental space as well.

Yes, indeed...

Less is definitely more. Great post!

With over 7 billion people on the planet, consumerism is a death knell.

Great post. Especially these major topics you have pointed out. With the unnecessary excess we loose track of the essence of our happiness.

For me it is quite relaxing and inspiring to read new thoughts sbout minimalism from people like Leo Babauta's blog mnmalist.com or zen habits or great author Josua Becker becomingminimalist.com.
Do you have any favorite recommendations for reading?

Minimalism is good style of life.

terimakasih atas informasi yang telah anda bagikan,

I follow you. I will help you
@mosabhehlal

great topic, i am always trying to get rid of stuff... i have my specific, limited collections of quality things, but i don't like clutter and crap. having space is very nice and relaxing and curating that space with lovely things is an important part of health for most people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47