“Adulting” on Steem

in #mindset5 years ago

CFF36823-98EC-41E4-9C9B-0859132E79CF.jpeg
Source

09E7B594-76C9-4ACE-9E80-0CC0927A669E.jpeg
Source

Hello Steemians,

I want to call your attention to an article written by @tarazp today called “show me your flame”

Good Morning!
This post greeted me this morning and I am really feeling it in my mind.
It started with this paragraph:

But, if those newbies are interested in social media, and then discover they might also be interested in economic development, financial consideration, ownership, freedom of speech, investing, crypto and a number of other things - they might find my content interesting - eventually.

And then it said this:

People often talk about Steem related content as if it should be tagged NSFW without realizing, that is exactly what i is, work. I am an investor here in more ways than one and am looking for a brighter future for a platform that has mammoth potential. Can you imagine people turning up to work at Google, Facebook, Twitter, Amazon, Apple, Microsoft or any business on earth and, not talking about their company, the direction, the model, the potentials, the risk?

And I felt like Wow! said @Tarazp is on a roll.
He is talking my language. This is in many ways a business. We are here to earn the right to earn. We need to learn how this place works, it’s vocabulary, it’s rules, we need to develop some skills, have good manners and work hard to make ourselves successful here.

And @tarazp said the dreadful “V-word”
Yes. What “VALUE” do you bring to the table.

My Dad always said to me, you will never have to worry about job security, as long as you bring value to your company. ( I later found out it helps if you let your boss have the majority of the credit 😂😂). But I digress...

What value do you bring to the table.
My dad always said; “The world doesn’t owe you anything”

I feel that logic applies to Steemit.
“This platform doesn’t owe you anything!”

I feel that our job is to figure out how to earn Steem and keep Steem”. Figure out the rules, the vocabulary, tricks, tips and what tools are other people using to be successful.

I suggest you read the rest of the post, because it contains several other good points and I don’t want to “steal all his thunder”.

Please follow this link: https://steemit.com/steem/@tarazkp/show-me-your-flame

63582914-907E-4831-BDCD-9D85E976D747.jpeg

Sort:  

To the Moon! lol

I feel that logic applies to Steemit.
“This platform doesn’t owe you anything!”

The entitlement issue on steem and in the world today is large. People expect they deserve support just for being.

I see it as an unfortunate side effect of trying to make everyone a winner and participation awards. If you give kids awards for just showing up, I think you send the wrong message and cause more problems.

I agree. I think the movement to build children’s self esteem by giving them “participation” trophies has backfired and now some of them expect to be rewarded as adults just for “showing up” or being present. I see this like you do in multiple facets of society. It’s a big problem.

This platform doesn't owe you anything. Nice said. I like it very much

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, I am glad you like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61979.42
ETH 2916.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63