Show me your flame

in #steem5 years ago

@nonameslefttouse (which is ironic on Steem since there are plenty left to use but I had to go with @nonameslefttouse69) posted this morning asking if what we are posting we think is interesting and I have to answer honestly:

No, I do not think my posts are interesting (to everyone).

 
I strongly believe that they are interesting to some people though based on observations and, I definitely am interested in what I am posting because, it would be quite ridiculous in my opinion to posts for no reason other than earning some magic beans coins.

Obviously a lot of my content is Steem related and inward facing, something that might not be great for attracting or keeping newbies to Steem interested in social media. But, if those newbies are interested in social media, and then discover they might also be interested in economic development, financial consideration, ownership, freedom of speech, investing, crypto and a number of other things - they might find my content interesting - eventually.

People often talk about Steem related content as if it should be tagged NSFW without realizing, that is exactly what i is, work. I am an investor here in more ways than one and am looking for a brighter future for a platform that has mammoth potential. Can you imagine people turning up to work at Google, Facebook, Twitter, Amazon, Apple, Microsoft or any business on earth and, not talking about their company, the direction, the model, the potentials, the risk?

I get paid by my company to think about and act in ways that I believe will improve their model - how long do you think they will employee me if I decided work wasn't the place for those discussions? On Steem, the blockchain is the boardroom, it is the shareholder meeting location, it is the place where conversations take place that drive development - even if that development takes place behind the scenes.

Learning motherfucker, do you speak it?

 
Does everyone have to be interested in these things? No. I would however argue that those who are looking to learn should be interested in the way things work here, just as they would be interested in the way things work with any of the things they turn their hand to. If the want to earn is present, even more the reason.

For those who find a hobby they thoroughly enjoy, it would be ludicrous not to take an interest in all the things that surround it. An enthusiastic salsa dancer will learn about the steps, the music, the lead, follow and all of the little body movements associated. An enthusiastic gamer will learn the ins and outs of a game, the shortcuts, the techniques, the gaming rig specs and all of the things that surround their experience, to improve their game. You got game?

The artist that can't hang himself

 
As I see it, it is hard to take someone seriously when they speak of issues they face that they have not been interested enough in to learn about. I am a content creator on Steem and always have been and since I set out to earn something for my creation, that means learning how the platform I create on works. It isn't easy, it is always changing and, it often doesn't support me so, I have to adjust.

If an artist went into a gallery and said "hang my fucking paintings motherfucker, and pay me for the privilege to view them", they'd likely not have many paintings in galleries (some would like the ballsiness of the move - the second artist that tries it?). For most artists who are successful within their lifetime it is about relationship building, not the art. The relationships give access to the platforms where their work can hang and, the people who will view it. There are a lot of starving artists out there, there are also a lot of introverted, difficult, emotionally unstable and reclusive artists too.

For me, Steem is a platform I get to express myself in a multitude of ways and most likely because financially things have been what could eloquently stated as "fucked" for a long time, I am interested in the economic aspects of Steem and learning how I could potentially use my skills better by increasing my skillset.

Steem is a skillset.

 
One of the skills is being able to keep an audience reading, a skill that is made more challenging the more text it contains in a world where 140 characters is classed a short novel. The length isn't the problem most of the time though, the style and content is. Write even the most interesting content like a textbook, people will fall asleep just like they did at school.

What is interesting? Listen to someone speak about something they love and take some notes. You can't do similar with your own content? Are you sure you actually find it interesting at all? Because, you definitely don't love it.

This is often the difference between what is interesting content and not in my opinion, as it shows when people don't actually give a toss about what they write and it has very little attractive power. this is even more repellent when one doesn't know the author as there is no relationship to explain the behavior, the coldness, or the nuance. I have known a few asshole artists that are successful, they still understood people well enough to build relationships where their assholeness is a feature, not a bug.

What are your features and what are your bugs?

 
I find a lot of people trip over themselves as there is a conflict between what they want, and what they are capable of having given their skills and behaviors. They spend their life tripping over themselves and blame everyone else for not recognizing their brilliance, while other "lesser" humans out perform them and accomplish that of which they dream.

It doesn't matter how smart you are, but if you want people to listen to you - you have to present for them. If you don't know your audience, you are just speaking to yourself. Of course, that satisfies some people's desires too because they can sit in their personal echo chamber and listen to the reverberation of their own voice always being "right".

I like to write (now) but I also know that this is a bug, not a feature for most people who like to consume soundbites of information and feel that they know enough to act on. But, I also tend to include enough "valuable content" that people will be annoyed, but continue reading through to see if there is something that they can use.

Generate more than extract

 
@taskmaster4450 asked a question the other day in a post about being a generative or extractive Steemian and I would say that I am far more generative than extractive on Steem and have contributed to many people having a better understanding of the platform to the point that they are willing to spiral out and become generators of value themselves in many ways.

The more generators of value Steem has, the more valuable Steem becomes and when it comes to what has value on a social network, it is the network itself; the connections, the conversations, the engagement, the shares, the help, advice and willingness to put in, not just take out. The network is the energy. But, putting anything in doesn't have value even if it has energy, just like putting sugar into a car tank instead of fuel doesn't make it run better.

Can you generate value on you?

 
Game theory surrounds people acting in "self-interest" yet, when it comes to actually knowing the self, knowing the bugs, the features and the conditions that influence personal behavior - *most people aren't interested enough to learn what works for them, and what doesn't. Most just take the lazy path and do what they want and blame everything else on why they don't get to where they want to be.

Even with all of the problems on the platform with bots and distribution, economics and behavior - people still need to understand there is an audience they must cater for and if that audience isn't interested, it isn't up to the audience to change because, they are obviously interested in something else.

I like thinking, talking, writing and engaging in Steem.
You think it shows?

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

I always take the lazy way out...

does it work for you?

Everyone is still talking about me six months later...

I think it also provides us a way to learn about ourselves and reflect on what we would like to do in the future. Finding relationships that foster these types of thoughts is great in creating value in itself as most places do not welcome it whereas communities continue to be built to think freely and offer feedback. Whether it be the interest of few or many is bot the point; instead, the potential is more valubale I believe.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Finding relationships that foster these types of thoughts is great in creating value in itself as most places do not welcome it whereas communities continue to be built to think freely and offer feedback.

I think so too. If we are meant to be building a different model for the future, we better make sure we change our habits learned in the past.

!dramatoken

How many do I need to be able to issue them?

!ENGAGE 100

Yaaay more tokens! :D

soon you are going to need tokens that tokenize keeping track of other tokens and the child tokens they spawn.

I really like that idea.

Here are your ENGAGE tokens!

To view or trade ENGAGE go to steem-engine.com.

That's another thing folks have to come to grips with. Knowing not everyone will find your work, my work, their work; interesting. It's the same for all of us and to freak people out even more, there are probably more out there who don't find it interesting than there are who do.

I use the same rule of thirds for people who might like me. 1/3 will like, 1/3 will dislike, 1/3 will not care either way.

Of course, if you are into some serious kink, the percentages might change ;D

Yeah, it shows!
This post is inspiring to me today, just when this hard fork business, which I barely understand, is starting to get me down. I have to remember that, even if I begin to make even less money than I do now, steem will still be a place I can go to amuse and interest myself, and hope some others (who don't care about the fact that their stake in my 13 cents will be negligible) will be amused or interested as well.

If you remember that, you will find that the path leads to earning more, not less when people come here to be amused and find interesting things to do rather than be fed what someone has been monetized to feed them.

Earning more what? Precious few people ever read my stuff, and each time someone does it's a lovely feeling I get (sorry about that passive voice writers). I'm already keeping an eye out for those I follow whose posts make a goodly sum (and it's not necessarily better content, it's folks who have figured out how to play the numbers), and will spend more of my time courting them, which leaves me less time to support the little interesting folk like me. The fork is leading me away from myself.

If there is one thing I have learned however, it is that bad things lead to great things, so there's that.

Loading...

I like how you say that Steem is a skillset. We need to learn this new skill, how the platform works. I'm amazed how many Steemians don't even know how to power up or the value of doing so. What is natural and no brainer to us is a unpassable ocean to them...

Posted using Partiko Android

You know all of those early adopters who got into the internet in the early-mid 90s and gamed and chatted on IRC? Most of them never went past that. Some of course went on to build some of the most valuable companies in the world.

As I see it, this is a new technology and offers possibilities that most who use it are going to miss as they satisfy their immediate needs and don't grow with the changes other than to satisfy more of the same needs. Some of course will pick up the ball, learn all they can and run with it.

This is a good analogy with early adopters. I know a man who literally brought internet to our country. But I have rarely heard his name after that.

You are very right, but sometimes people don't notice the value you are bringing to them even if you explain that to them. Sometimes they are not willing to understand you at all. I was bringing value all the time by interviewing steemians who are not seen in the platform, but I didn't see a big appriciation from whales for doing that. Thanks to @dtube who always supported all this time and that's what kept me here. I also build @dcooperation , but it's still small to beed seen. I will do the maximum to keep bringing value to the blockchain because I've been here for more than 2 years and I don't think I can ever leave this platform. I start to understand things more here. You are right, learning about the audiance is even more important that learning about how steem works or something else. I already learned what I could about steem and dapps, now it's the time to learn about people and what kind of content they want from me. Thanks for your inspiration, I'm glad I've found you. ☺

Thanks to @dtube who always supported all this time and that's what kept me here.

THis is the job of applications right? to keep their users who add value.

I already learned what I could about steem and dapps, now it's the time to learn about people and what kind of content they want from me.

I think if open to it, this would be an interesting journey to take.

Thanks for your inspiration, I'm glad I've found you. ☺

You are welcome, hopefully some of the random I speak about helps you :)


You have DRAMA!

To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

It shows like crazy...damn I see your new posts in the middle of the night sometimes,..

I would say that I am far more generative than extractive on Steem and have contributed to many people having a better understanding of the platform to the point that they are willing to spiral out and become generators of value themselves in many ways.

Yup, I can testify to this,...I'm glad to be one of those who learned from your insights and even your writing style. Value

Hopefully it has helped more than harmed ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62