You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why is it Important to Know More than One Language?

in #mindset6 years ago

i think see many people stating the number of languages they speak. I always find those statements somewhat difficult or misleading, because it could mean several things.

  1. You know a few sentences in 5 languages(doesn't count in any way, but I really have spoken people who thought it did)
  2. You can survive if you had to live in an environment where you had to speak one of those languages on a day to day basis. (usually with bad grammar, sentence structure and accent, but could get your point across to others)
  3. You can have a reasonable conversation in 5 languages.
  4. You are fluent in them. If I take myself as an example: I am completely fluent in two languages, I am reasonably conversational in 1 and could survive in another 1. How many languages do I speak? When can you say you speak a language? Is that point 2 or point 3? I myself think it's 3, but I could be too strict. I am curious what others think

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76