You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Igniting Your Torch with the Fire of Your Passion...

in #mindset5 years ago

We could preach that you should never do something that you don’t like, as motivational speakers often do, but we all know that is neither practical, nor realistic when attributed to the struggles of our everyday life.

Very true. I even heard a doctor say that the cure to most diseases in adults is simply to quit jobs. Most people, allegedly work doing things they don't like and that is the source of all their illnesses.

I don't know how true that is, but it is a fact that feeling miserable about what we do ruins our physical and mental health.

I just quit my job as a college professor because universities in Venezuela are in ruins. I loved my job but the crisis made it impossible for anyone to keep working in colleges here.

I hope this decision is the beginning of a healing and re-inventing process.

How can you use these talents or passions to bring pleasure and delight to the things that you hate doing?

Simple things, as you have suggested may do the trick. I have seen girls working at stores as sales reps sing and dance while they help customers. That's their way of coping with their dislike for the activity.
I remember when i was a teenager and had to work in construction sites I'd do whatever was assigned to me as fast and well as I could. If it was an irritating task, I figured the sooner I am done, the better.
It helped me. My bosses would move me to do other things as a reward, things that demanded less physical effort.
I found that by doing the task as if I was enjoying it, it did not feel as irritating as it would have been had I performed it begrudgingly.

Sort:  

Good point. Since I was a kid pulling weeds I pretended it was fuel for my spaceship to take me back to earth.

Your understanding and attitude were perfect! Regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90