The Absurdity of Comparing Yourself to Other People...

in #mindset5 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemians!

In our overwhelmingly crowded and mediocre society, it has grown to become a tendency of young people to seek the approval of other people and meet their standards, going so far as to compare their capabilities and achievements to them, thus falling into a crisis of depression and self-hatred.


image2.jpg
img src

Comparing the flow of your life with those that are around you and measuring your achievements with their success is as absurd as it is foolish. Every creature in this existence is unique. Humans more so, for they have thought and free will to choose their path and make decisions in every step.

‘You become as you think’ is a famous expression of the power of thought and free will. It is reasonable and efficient to understand the boundaries of society and try to find your place in it, but these boundaries are thoughts expressed by other human beings, out of their own free will, and are no indication of universal truths.

You can go through the trial and find harmony with the society that you live in, but do not lose your independence in the process of fitting in.


image3.jpg
img src

Have the courage to be as creative as you can possibly get, and do not be afraid of going for the horizons that others have been too afraid to even approach. Your originality will be the deciding factor of your true identity in society, and not the identity that you borrow from other people in search of something that is in vain.

As people are all unique, so is the world around them and the opportunities that life has in store for them. How could you possibly compare yourself to someone who may be more successful than you without knowing the circumstances that he has been put in?

What about the opportunities? What about the trials and the errors?

Life does not treat everyone equally, but at the end of the day, it is up for you to decide what you want to do and who you want to become. This decision should be irrelevant to the people around you, for you are your own person, and you are living a unique life.

That uniqueness is your greatest gift.

Do not live out the rest of your days feeling like you should be like everybody else, or a particular person that you admire.


image1.jpg
img src

Make your own opportunities. Make your own decisions. Make your own identity. You are not a slave of this mediocre society, for you can rise above everyone else and become something entirely new.

This is the ultimate freedom. Freedom from expectations. Freedom from selfishness. Freedom from ego. Freedom from envy. Freedom from greed. It is only when you stop looking at yourself as a reflection of the successful people you know that you can find true success and achievement and light at the end of the road.

We are not the same, not even in the slightest. Your personality is your own, as is your success.

From now on, see your life as a unique opportunity that only YOU can experience.

A BIG HUG!

@chbartist

==================

Important Note!

I have been working very hard on this blog since the beginning. I have a very busy life but I am giving my best and believe me I have shared experiences that I have been coaching thousands of people and I know that the change of the Mindset should be daily. I am already grateful to see you giving upvotes to each other and you can see this with the fact that many already have 8, 9, 10 upvotes. But I'm sure that with the effort of all of us we will see a community with, 40, 50, 80 upvotes and for that everyone should get engaged so we can make it come true. I believe and we can! Resteem...

***Remember Community: Please, if you commented and upvote on a new post I did, please always go back to the previous one because if someone in the community commented lastly because of time zone differences it will be without your upvote and that would not be fair.

You all know the goal! We can reach: 50+ Upvotes each others!

Attention!!!

I'm reading all the meaningful comments from the posts.

I am here making a list of all of you who have helped build this community by voting for each other who write meaningful comments and soon I will respond to everyone with comment and thank you all because I can already see this spirit being built in this Positive Mindset community and help between all of you.

You will receive my upvote in all material and brief comments I will do this in all the posts I am following very closely and I can see what the people who are generous and contribute to this legacy that I am trying to build with all of you can become reality in a short time.

AND

First of all, I would like to thank all of you, who are the most active and proactive in this community, showing your generosity and always with meaningful comments. From now on I will always make a list of these incredible people who have helped to expand our goal of growing ever more.

But I ask that if you are new around here you read many of the previous posts because they make it clear that we are building a community with respect among all, generosity and this blog is for those who really want to start moving their Mindset to positive and moreover be part of the growth of all of us who contribute to this blog. Please do not ask to include you in the list if you are just wanting upvotes because we want here people genuinely attuned to growth and good attitudes and as I have always said with Respect as the basis of all, generosity and positivity!

ABOUT OUR LIST!!! WE NEED GROW THIS LIST! LET'S GO TOGETHER IN THIS COMMUNITY - RESTEEM!

Feel free if you want to be included in the list of contributors to this community. Just ask at the end of your comment.

@juanmanuellopez1 @moghul @coolguy222 @newageinv @gowealth @blessed-girl @cruis @lexymaine @alokkumar121 @aceandnotes @darlenys01 @rafique1953 @marvyinnovation @wems @ajks @alaisguineasis @amnlive @kimmysomelove42 @praditya @tommyl33 @samryan @vickykarma @brightsun @oppongk @kryp70kn1gh7 @hobo.media @theticket @royer94 @mentalhealthguru @bradley028 @nummulshrma @maxijgcomm @maikelblogo @mrblu @nancymj @petervi @mcoinz79 @missabigail @saludoalalma @mcnestler @moarafatshow @gargi @luis402 @rem-steem @shahzadeh @sumon-ar-vines @naijauser @yantrax @josema.saborido @khan.dayyanz @shapescooper @aceofhearts @marcocosta @rvag5 @fusroj @cashlane @borrowedearth @michaeljn @kchitrah @mitchhunter @nataliaeline @cherlianny @unknownphoton @unclefz @gardengranny @bettyamv @ghostwriter9 @wandrnrose7 @nancybriti @missladybug @shirophantomhive @rvag5 @ankitjnv @marvyinnovation @tommyl33 @gowealth @ustaadonline @daio @brightsun @mzubairch @lightestofideas @amit1995 @starapple @treodecimo @edinhazard @maxijgcomm @wasito @mariita52 @maroni55 @nataliaeline @ajtech2596 @keithf @wesleyvanderstel @grainsofsand @mariita52 @naijauser @castleirwell @juanmanuellopez1 @moghul @coolguy222 @newageinv @gowealth @blessed-girl @cruis @lexymaine @alokkumar121 @aceandnotes @darlenys01 @rafique1953 @marvyinnovation @wems @ajks @alaisguineasis @amnlive @kimmysomelove42 @praditya @tommyl33 @samryan @vickykarma @brightsun @oppongk @kryp70kn1gh7 @hobo.media @theticket @royer94 @mentalhealthguru @bradley028 @nummulshrma @maxijgcomm @maikelblogo @mrblu @nancymj @petervi @mcoinz79 @missabigail @saludoalalma @mcnestler @moarafatshow @gargi @luis402 @rem-steem @shahzadeh @sumon-ar-vines @naijauser @yantrax @josema.saborido @khan.dayyanz @shapescooper @aceofhearts @marcocosta @rvag5 @fusroj @cashlane @borrowedearth @michaeljn @kchitrah @mitchhunter @nataliaeline @cherlianny @unknownphoton @unclefz @gardengranny @bettyamv @ghostwriter9 @wandrnrose7 @nancybriti @missladybug @shirophantomhive @rvag5 @ankitjnv @marvyinnovation @tommyl33 @gowealth @ustaadonline @daio @brightsun @mzubairch @lightestofideas @amit1995 @starapple @treodecimo @edinhazard @maxijgcomm @wasito @mariita52 @maroni55 @nataliaeline @ajtech2596 @keithf @wesleyvanderstel @grainsofsand @mariita52 @naijauser @castleirwell
@isabelpereira @nulifeiq @royer94 @yaleal @ushmil @nisiryan0522 @reveurgam @certain @kkins @nurseanne84 @robertyan @xtophercruzeu @theureview @anil566 @freedomanytime @clayrawlings

Thanks All of You!!!!

Sort:  

Thank you so much sir for this awesome bloog. This is very useful to me because me too a person who compare myself with other person. I know this is wrong ever person have their specific qualities but sometimes I think I'm a looser. I lost so many things in my life. After reading this blog I got a lesson. What ever you write in this blog Im going to us it in my personal life. So I can improve myself and do something better to achieve something best in my life.
Thanks once again
@ajks

@ajks... I already embrace the wonderful chats @chbartist shares with us here. They are making a difference in my life, may you find a similar experience... I wish you well upon your journey. Hugs

Thanks for your comment I'm trying to point out things @borrowedearth

Great read, @chbartist. To know what a bad idea it is to compare yourself to others, think of lottery winners. Somebody bought a $1 lottery ticket and now have $400,000,000. Their situation as compared to you is irrelevant. One way to avoid this trap is to get rid of your toxic friends. You know who they are. When you express a desire to try something new and exciting, they are the first ones to announce you will fail. They make fun of your attempts and if you do succeed, they claim it was their idea and they should be getting the credit for your success. Come up with a one year and a five year plan. As things evolve, do not be afraid to reevaluate and modify or completely change your goals. I am a trial lawyer so I am around very wealthy people on a regular basis. Many of them live in complete misery due to all kinds of self-inflicted disappointment. They spend all day worrying that someone is going to get their money. The wealth did not liberate them, it trapped them. My best advice is find your passion and go after it, whatever it is that brings you joy and fulfillment. Hey, @chbartist, I would love to be on your list. Thanks!

Thank you for your words and I included you. See the list. Welcome

This write-up is an eye opener to me, I have been a victim of comparison, having gone through school and observing my peers makes me look like i am not doing anything with my life, but like you said, They have circumstances, opportunities and trials i may not be away of.
They all have their unique background and i have mine.
Regards

we are who we are, for lifetime there only us with our body and no other else. other people is only reference for our life attitude .

You are unique with your own self identity

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am Really enjoying the motivational posts and reminders. I like the daily positive messages and the overall mindset that you put out there. I'd like to be a part of the Community that you talk about at the end of each of your posts. I dont think I'll be able to read and vote for every single post but I should be able to comment at least once per day. Let me know :)

Posted using Partiko Android

God created each one of us, original, unique, each person is very different from another, even the twins ... therefore each person has his own virtues, then ... why compare himself with others and hope to achieve what others achieve, when you can have your own triumphs and achievements ... the secret is to learn to know your own gifts, your strong and positive sides and to recognize them, learn to exploit them and in this way, you will see that your triumphs are exclusively yours.

Hi @chbartist!

Truly said. It is really absurd. Comparing one to others creates inferiority or superiority complex within us. These complexes do not let us advance. It is good that we compare ourselves to our past version. Then we can we can update ourselves. We can grow. Comparing ourselves to others is of no good.

As you said, we must understand and recognise our uniqueness. We are unique and this vision makes everyone respected including ourselves.

@questionthetrend

Posted using Partiko Android

I think that comparing yourself with another person is insulting yourself. I completely believe in this. Everybody have their own dreams, own goals, own type of desires and then how can one compare himself with another. Precisely there should be no comparison at all and should work according to own choice. Thanks for the post @chbartist

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy' Christmas steemian

@chbartist I shine my deepest gratitude in your direction. You and your post topics have entered my reality at a time when I needed to hear them. They echo in my thoughts days and even weeks beyond my initial reading of them. I have gone back and reread many of them more than once.

I am launching my return to Steemit by the new year and feel that your posts and their influence will most definitely come up in my writings.

I am one who enjoys giving credit when due. How are you comfortable receiving these references. Reply here or I am happy to further this chat and perhaps take a chance of making a new friend by chatting on discord, same name there.

Hugs

This is more difficult these days as society continues to push consumerism in our daily lives which have led to focus on materialistic views of each other. This is a path that is unhealthy for ourselves and our families.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63155.22
ETH 3108.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85