You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Deathless In Buddhism

in #mindfulness6 years ago

@reddust, I guess you know when Lord Buddha was born. It's Wesak full moon poyaday. Today is a wesak poya day to every Sri lanka buddhists. So we today will go to temple and worship there. Lot of houses decorated with wesak designs like as neon lights, buddhism flags etc... So I give you big salute coz you posted best meaningful post on my religious leader's birthday.

Nibbana as the goal is simply said a negation of all affirmations of the negative, without having a positive narrative that establishes importance of the positive.

Yep... I totally agree above content as you mentioned here. Every peoples tray to go Nibbana then we haven't any dissaster or sadness things. We will not get any human or any other life on the planet if you have get nibbana. It's valuable and everyone try to do. Humans has most of passions. But after our death what things you'll carry out. Please think carefully. That's most valuable content indeed post. Easy understand content there. How you celebrate Wesak festival @reddust?

Sort:  

@madhushanka, I am just a happy parrot...hahaha

Happy Birthday to Buddha and I bet Sri Lanka looks beautiful with it's colored lights and decorations.

Regarding the deathless reminds me of this passage:

"If a monk abandons passion for the property of consciousness, then owing to the abandonment of passion, the support is cut off, and there is no landing of consciousness. Consciousness, thus not having landed, not increasing, not concocting, is released. Owing to its release, it is steady. Owing to its steadiness, it is contented. Owing to its contentment, it is not agitated. Not agitated, he (the monk) is totally unbound right within. He discerns that 'Birth is ended, the holy life fulfilled, the task done. There is nothing further for this world.'

I like Bhikkhu Thanissaro translations compared to my other favorite translator Bhikkhu Bodhi...Thanissaro has more juice....lolol
SN 22.53 PTS: S iii 53
Upaya Sutta:
translated from the Pali by
Thanissaro Bhikkhu

If there were a place to land called Nibbana it would be a thing...there is no thing as Nibbana, things are bits and pieces of other things. We can't go to Nibbana ...there is no self to go anywhere in the flux of phenomena...hahaha <3

I celebrate Buddha's birthday with my Vajrayana friends on Saka Dawa May 16 – June 13, however when I write and study Dhamma every day is a celebration. I wouldn't have the courage to teach, Buddha was truly a warrior...people aren't very nice, especially during Buddha's time...Most of the people, the Brahmans, and Jains didn't believe him and a few tried to kill him, even his jealous cousin and a serial killer called Angulimala. Buddha faced all danger with a calm steady mind and taught the Dhamma...I try and be a warrior but I am a wimp!

Buddha was born into a time of war and eventually his kingdom was destroyed, but he walked away from being a prince and saved his family...many became arahants including his Mother's sister.

If I have to to get chance to take colorful images I'll post it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62820.16
ETH 2438.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69