You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lineage and Caste in Early Buddhism

in #mindfulness6 years ago

@reddust, Appreciated explanation about caste in early Buddhism. I totally read these context as you wrote here. But some source details couldn't find coz this is not a time. If I have free time definitely read those contexts via source. Long years ago Caste was most important for show family background. Currently my country has but I dis-agree with caste. We all are humans. I don't like imbalance. But Buddha's period happened massively. Those one nicely explained of Anguttara Nikaya.

Buddha means when it is said that the Dhamma is a teaching of ‘come and see’ for yourself and to realize for yourself.

I totally appreciated with Buddha coz above context told by him. Buddhist has more freedom. We had learnt lot of Buddha lessons and we must need to do. We can also didn't. It's reality of Buddhism. But need to be control. Thanks for inspiration.

Sort:  

There are some controversial words in my article that are translated differently depending on who is translating like gotta/gotra...hehehe

When I talk about caste it is in refrence to Buddha going aganst his cultures view that only certain families and high caste in India could attain enlightenment. Buddha said anyone can find freedom but of course they have to let go of their material lineage, caste, world view and join the spiritual family, clan, and let go of all views.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61224.26
ETH 2383.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55