You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Early Schools of Indian Buddhism Series

in #mindfulness6 years ago

Interesting where it states that everything is due to Karma. Do Buddhist believe in a multiplier of that Karma in other words if you do bad to someone it will come back at you say tenfold. Thanks so much for sharing tonight @reddust

Sort:  

Karma is complicated, and Buddha warned if you look too closely you may go mad...hahaha it's like a fractal to me, that is my personal opinion. In my opinion without karma Buddhism wouldn't be Buddhism. So learning the basics about karma is very important!

Karma is like a seed, you can have a seed that grows bitter fruit, a seed that grows sweet fruit, and a seed that does not sprout immediately and some sprout in the next season or needs fire and ice to germinate. The body is our old karma, any action no matter is done with good intention or wrong can be neutral, positive, or negative karma. All karma can be let go in this lifetime if one has the right qualities and or takes the teachings from an enlightened person. I can't tell the difference between one mind and another, so I put my trust in the teachings, a teacher's conduct, and my personal experience. I question everything, and my faith must be earned!

This goes into the different kinds of karma, remember karma is the law of nature, cause and effect.

Angulimala Sutta: About Angulimala - translated from the Pali by Thanissaro

I like BhikuThanissaro's translations, they have more spirit/juice when compared to Bhikkhu Bodhi's work, although I love Bhikkhu Bodhi and appreciate all his hard work.

I have heard that on one occasion the Blessed One was staying near Savatthi at Jeta's Grove, Anathapindika's monastery. And at that time in King Pasenadi's realm, there was a bandit named Angulimala: brutal, bloody-handed, devoted to killing & slaying, showing no mercy to living beings. He turned villages into non-villages, towns into non-towns, settled countryside into the unsettled countryside. Having repeatedly killed human beings, he wore a garland (mala) made of fingers (anguli).

One of my favorite stories because if a murder can change his ways and let go of his negative karma anyone of us can too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99