Mindful conversations with the people that know : Streetside Chats

in #mindfulness6 years ago

Conversations on the street can become meaningful interchanges

In October of 2017 I went on a mission to one of the local pre-schools to introduce a well known but forgotten probiotic drink to the teachers, in the hope they'd research and agree to try it themselves as a natural immune builder. As well as slowly introduce into the children's diet. [Kefir Grains - Part of the What I Think Rainbow Health]

When the Shadow walks out in the Sunlight

As I was living not far away, the weather beautiful, I chose to take the long walk around. I encountered a group of folk selling odd wears outside the community center.
A motley mix I like to call it. An African gathering of humans that ordinarily wouldn't meet.
An Muslim husband and wife selling spices, a Colored lady selling socks and other cute, out of the ordinary for the area clothing, a few others were gathered for conversation as the weather was fine.
There were two armed guards with large firearms watching the proceedings.

On my way to the pre-school I'd stopped to see what was for sale. Enquired as to the big event what with all the important security. It's pensions day. They bring the pensions to the people. The stall holders help the old people to spend some of their money before it gets stolen.

It's a rough world here in Africa. Simultaneously it's a place of so many hues of human. Mostly good, I might add. The sunshine always brings smiles, so we stopped after my purse had been depleted, to enjoy a 'get to know you' session. Being the only white in the village, the curiosity of the locals tingled me.

They asked why I was there.
I explained about the pre-school and that it's part of a project I'm putting together which I hoped they'd support. They were intrigued.
I explained about the burglary (please let me know in comments if it's a story that needs telling) which left me bereft, and dedicating myself to finding solutions to the problems we're facing with mass unemployment. Even the educated can't get work.
I quickly led onto the visions along the journey which led me to a place we could see from where we stood. The place where I saw the open learning happen.
Where I see open access education in full color.
I explained about a fair economy and how we can create more equality with the value we all have.
The Muslim lady asked if I could help a female relative who was struggling.

My answer: I can only be of service to You if you are of service to yourself :: Balance in Being

Helping yourself is the only way. I've had no choice. I'm a single white girl living in a dirty corporate world with a black dominated governance. I'm everyone's target.

I've had to work tens of thousands of times harder, smarter, faster than anyone I know to get to where I'm heading.
(if you follow me you'll find out)
One thing I've learned is that no matter how many people are around you, it's still you who has to put in the work, make the decisions and do it for you.

The conversations led to where they were from and whether or not they'd have to come to this village to get the benefits of the program I was putting in place.
Wow... I was astounded that their uptake was so quick and trusting. They were hungry, all of them, now a 15 strong group of strangers had gathered to hear me speak.
A motley mix of humans.
All recognising that if we get back to our roots, we'll find our way to a more peaceful society.

I discussed with them in brief how I'd looked into various religions, beliefs and faiths. How I'd found my path to be one of keeping it simple. That all had one common bond, Love.

#3SimpleThings
Respect
Gratitude
Kindness

Recognising human value above all else, it was agreed, is the first wave of moral adjustment society needs.

Each heartbeat facing so many personal difficulties on so many levels with no hope in place, this I hoped would not give them false expectations, but be a bright spark of light in a very dark time.
We spoke about how valuable each human actually is, I told them the story of the Polsmoor prisoner from the local village (repeat offender, born and bred fisherman/thief) who'd literally been my angel in getting me safely home through a terrifying part of gangland that no white girl should ever see!

This Angel realised his own value that night when he risked his own life and limb in getting me home. In doing everything he could for a stranger who may never again thank him. (all proceeds from the 3-1-1 split on all articles or posts that mention this Angel go directly to realising his dreams - like -resteem-upvote and follow to give more to people you'll never meet who deserve at least One chance in life.)

I'm not a speaker. I can talk a lot. Write a lot but speaker I've never really been.
I've shied away from the spotlight or being in big groups where I'll usually be in the background listening from afar.
This little bit of freedom to speak outside of the boundaries of political correctness, from the heart and as a person who is 'of the ground', a true African. Ubuntu lives in your soul, It oozes out of every ounce of your being. Ubuntu, kindness, thoughtfulness, mindfulness, concern, togetherness, hope, tenacity and so much more was added to the pot of emotions that swirled in the light breeze.

A collection of people from as far away as 25-30kms they'd traveled, for various reasons. Landing there, on that day to hear me tell them weird stories of odd adventures and how much I want to make a difference.

If was a gifted day. Great practice for knowing which end of the scale I want to be working with. Which group of humans I know I can touch deepest and be most respected in. The truthful community who deserve at least One chance at a life.

Many have made billions, squandering on frivolousness like sending cars to the moon. Thinking this a fine act for someone who's home country is in dire need of a financial boost in the humanitarian sector.
Leaving the most deprived to be that way whilst they run amok in showing off the disengaged human they've become. I told them I could not sleep at night with that type of luxury knowing so many have no food. My stomach wouldn't sit right.

Why Here, They asked? Why not Us?

I laughed.. well.. the answer is that this is where it starts, because this is where I've been repeatedly drawn to.. it spreads as quickly as the colored and black messengers can run. They all laughed at this knowing the colored community have a gossip line that works faster than email. ;-)
And the black community can rally a 100 strong group together in a whistle, with zero communications devices. Somehow their 'bush telegraph' has continued to work faster than fibre does.
And more accurately the message is relayed too. No FUD.

Our differences are so tiny. They're merely visible.

I turned to the Muslim lady and said to her, regardless of our beliefs or faiths you and I are 99% the same. She looked confused. I turned to the dark black man with shining white eyes and said, you and I are 99% the same, then to everyone. I said, what we see is the only difference.
Surely that's just an identifier, not a deliverance to hell or heaven?

Surely the way we treat one another should count for more than the mere facade that we see?

I could feel they were all feeling welled up with a renewed perspective, I hoped they'd take this message to everyone they meet so that we could begin to grow together through the natural communications networks that exist in communities that truly, deeply care for one another.

I also promised the visitors to the village that whatever happens with #Pi and @whatithink she will hear about it. " We were brought together so that I could tell you about it. You each have your churches, communities, projects happening around you. Tell them about it. Get them interested. We discussed the interfaith community activities such as environmental awareness. "
The more she heard, the more she thought, the more plans I could feel arise. Suddenly she was feeling renewed energy for what is possible and what may be.

One of the many mindful conversations I've been privileged enough to have.

They make up the back bone of how the #Pi story unfolds.

Please find a way to support the efforts of the few in solving the problems of the plenty.

** Remember the repeat offender angel - he needs a chance - your upvote or resteem puts us closer to making a change in another 3 lives. (and more - ripple effect)

support #Pi through Steemit.png

Bonnieatpi signature.png

Sort:  

@bonnieatpi you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Thank You! Much appreciate it. People with intellect find better things to do with their time than hurt others. Soon there will be no place for sad people like Trolls.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29