How I'd Spend a Million Dollars in 24 Hours

in #milliondollarchallenge6 years ago (edited)

      The hilarious and cool cat, @WhatisNew, tagged me for the Million Dollar Challenge. It goes like this: You've been given a sweet $1,000,000 (I'm going to assume after tax since I like how all those zeros look). What would you buy within the first 24 hours? It can't be Steem related.

I'd find a place with a view as peaceful as this.

      I think everyone has thought about what they'd do if they win a lottery or come into a big sum of money. What bills they would pay off, where they would move, and who they would help. I'm not any different in that department. Although, I'll confess that my first thoughts were more along the lines of:

ezgif.com-resize (7).gif
It'd just be a 20 minute bath. I swear!


      All kidding aside, I'd spend the first half hour or so paying off my debt. Between repaying my partner for all of the years that he's paid on the house we live in, my car, and a few other sundry bills, there would go a little under $60,000.

      Following that, I'd stick $300,000 in savings plans towards my children's education.
My eldest daughter, a freshman in high school, wants to be a cardiologist. Which is good since the thought of the loan payments makes me need one! She's dreamt of becoming a doctor since third grade and worked hard to qualify for one of the few seats in her high school's Health Professions Program!

       As for my youngest daughter, she's narrowed it down to "something involving animals". Some days I picture her running the world's greatest animal sanctuary. Then, there are other days. When my cute and twisted little one will do or say something and and I think, Yup. Taxidermist.

I'd then hand off fat envelopes with $10,000 inside to my local fire department, Boys & Girls Club, food bank, PEACE Inc, abuse recovery shelter, rescue hounds program and the spay & neuter nonprofit organization that I volunteer with. All of these charities have good people running them and I trust that they'll use the funds responsibly. Another envelope would go to a friend to pay for her carpal tunnel surgeries.

After those deliveries, I'd buy a house with, you guessed it, lots of land! A quick search returned many properties with 10 or more acres, a pond or situate alongside a river, and a house in good repair. I limited my budget to $200,000 but since I'd be trying to get the deal done in a day, let's up that to $300,000. Then there'd be plenty of room for gardens and some chickens, including Redda here, whom my daughters adore!       So, if math is my friend today, that would leave more than enough to purchase a truck, plants, the supplies to build a chicken coop, a porch swing, and possibly a work shed. Then I'd be buying a few plane tickets. There's a friend in Michigan that I haven't seen in almost 12 years, a certain Sassy @Snook that I want to be able to give a real hug, and a restaurant in Italy, Grotta Palazzese, that I want to take @Omra-sky, @F3nix and @Marcoriccardi to. Of course, this means that I'd have to to finally get myself a passport!

      Finally, after all of that running around, I think I'd sit on my porch swing, have a cup of tea, and watch the sun set.

      The last part of this challenge is to tag five others to share what they'd do with the chance to realize a few of their dreams. So, come out and play @thekittygirl, @docpaoh, @dennisauburn, @mcamayra & @starzy!


Thank you @omra-sky for my sweet Squirrple Necklace separator!

All photos are my own. GIF via giphy


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Squirrel World GIF by @Omra-sky. Thank you! 😻

GIF by @Omra-sky.

Carl GIF by @Snook! 💖 - Personalized by @Omra-sky


Thank YOU for reading!

Sort:  

This is wonderful! It's so great that your daughters have such interests. And I've already made reservations...
hotel-ristorante-grotta.jpg

Thanks! The two of them are such a trip and I'm a veryproud Mama! And I'm glad you did, drawing makes me hungry...😉😎

Whoa, I didn't know about this! Let's sit close to the edge so of we don't like something re can throw it down waiter included 😛 Having you here in Italy for a memorable experience would be amazing guys!

😂 We'd have the fastest service after the first waiter went over the side! Here's to hoping that, some day, we can all meet each other face to face F3nix!!! 🍷

Yeah and throw each other down the cliff 😂

Not until AFTER dessert!!! 😁🤘

Maybe BEFORE and BECAUSE of it! 😂😛

Love you too!

Awww...


Peanut Butter Sandwich cookie smells!!!

Thank you Kitty!!! 💕

You must be a very proud mom! Best wishes to your eldest daughter and tell her thank you for choosing such a difficult medical profession. And, doing anything related to animals has my vote. I love those big fat envelopes to the charities also. I will be over to sit on the porch swing with you, admiring nature. Don't ever stop chasing your dreams...you might catch one! : )

I REALLY am! My girls are weird and hilarious and even talking with them makes my day! Thank you so much Whatisnew!! 🤗 Sitting together on the porch taking in the view would be fantastic!
then I'd get to work cooking up something tasty for us to eat after the sun set. We'd be able to eat our dinner and admire the moon as well. 🌙
I'm ready with a GIANT butterfly net for catching! 😉

That sounds wonderful brisby! Speaking of the moon...you missed a freewrite that I did and I mentioned your name. I took a photo of the Pink Full Moon just for you and included it in my post. If you want to see it, look at the post from 10 days ago, Day 193-Prompt: hook. Enjoy my friend. : )

I really don't like caption comments, but after much thought, time for a reread, I have to say you got it in one. Variations for all the differences in place and so on, but that plan pretty much is,that plan which any and all my coffee table dreams of lotto wins with my mates has delineated. Keep on keeping on. 😇

Thank you for stopping by and commenting, Simon62! (I always get such a kick out of reading the comments. 😁) Good luck to you and your mates with those lotto tickets!

I have already won, as one in seven billion, as have you, so one in fifteen million is easy-peasy 😆

Ha! Great way to look at it!

If one cannot afford to lose the cost of the ticket, then one cannot afford the gamble and will by anxiety and doubt bring about one's non-win. 😄

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This was a very interesting challenge! I wish the best for your daughter's education as a doctor. I also think that you have some great dreams for that money. Don't you wonder sometimes about those who do get it and how they squander it? I hope that if I would ever get that kind of money I would be able to help as many people as $1000000 would buy. I think I would be guilty of wanting to travel quite a bit LOL. It's always nice to have a place to settle down, too, but I don't want to have to spend a whole lot of time there until I absolutely physically have to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52