You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Milk Post: Chugging a Quart in Solidarity! 🥛 - SBD Potato Parody

in #milkntators5 years ago

I think I'm starting to come to terms with the fact that Steem is a niche community, and I guess the word niche could be replaced by a couple of other words too.

Sort:  

Insane you mean? Rememeber the old quote.

q8cnqk.jpg

Funny sidebar I think happened to me coding a curation reward data acquisition script last night (totally unrelated to this. Oops! 🤥)

So, here I am constructing a whild loop to obtain all blog posts on an account and no matter what I tried I could not seem to figure out why the list variable would never match the post count.

I constructed numerous ways to essentially do the same thing hoping I would find the one that would produce different results. I tried rpc directly, i tried counters, and various iterative models using math functions. Nothing!

I felt that I must havd been losing my mind but turns out to have been a follow-api blog history limit on accounts which I find by a mord thorough comb of the source code.

I could have gone on for an an eternity and it wouldn't have made a difference. Well perhaps a difference in scenery to a nice location with padded walls.

It was a good lesson for me to alwayz consider the possible that the problem is not necessarily my code but the API.

Anyways, I just threw in when the get_blog reaches an index where it returns zero to conludd the loop. Sometimes the more simple solutions evade us. Spent way too much time down that rabbit hole. 🐰

Hope you enjoyed the narrativs. Maybe I'll refine it and "postify" this little story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47