Are Steemit celebrations over rated?

in #milestone5 years ago (edited)

Depends on what you're celebrating

Some people do a monthly achievement summary. Some do a milestone celebration when they reach a certain reputation, some celebrate when they achieve Red Fish or Dolphin level. And others celebrate their Steemitversary.
2019-06-21 (2).png

MONTHLY SUMMARY
Personally I think monthly summary achievement is a bit of an overkill and frankly it's not worth my time and effort. Who cares how much my wallet has increased and how many followers I have gained or lost during the month.

REPUTATION
The higher your reputation they more difficult it is to move up a level, so when you get beyond say 65, every level up is a well deserved achievement.

STEEM POWER
SP achievements are a different story. For newbies, reaching 500 SP is a very significant milestone because that's when you officially get the slider and graduate to a Red Fish. Nowadays, with so many different interfaces you can get the slider even if you have only 15 SP in your wallet. In fact, just this week, someone with 15 SP downvoted one of my post at 20% voting power. I was so tempted to write back and tell him/her not to be so pathetic and sad. Anyway, reaching 500 SP is a big deal and deserves to be celebrated. The next major SP miletsone is normally the Dolphin, 5000 SP. I think that also deserves a celebration as it's a reflection of your dedication on Steemit

STEEMITVERSARY
That's definitely a YES!!! Birthdays IRL come naturally, you don't need to do anything. Steemitversaries are a different story. You need to hang around and be active to make it to the next year. Ok, techinically you don't. You can be dormant all year and still achieve your Steemitversary, but then what exactly are you celebrating apart from having an account on Steemit?

Steemitversaries are worth celebrating because you've made it this far through your engagement and involvement on the Steem eco system. A lot of people drift away because they don't get any support on Steemit. Some are too busy IRL and others get fed up and pack their bags. Most choose to hang around because they like it here and the have a bunch or great friends. That's what keeps me here, and thanks to a reminder from @steemitboard, I made it to my second Steemitversary today!!!
2019-06-21 (3).png

I don't know exactly how one celebrates their Steemitversary? Do I buy myself a Steemitversary cake? Hold a party - who's gonna come when all my Steemit friends are scattered around the world? Or shall I give myself a pat on the back for making it this far? Maybe I'll just talk to myself here and wish myself a Happy Second Steemitvesary.


Check out all my travel posts here on Steemit Worldmap, and also my latest project @LadiesOfAsia where we share fun and cultural diversity across Asia Pacific.

Sort:  

Hi, @livinguktaiwan!

You just got a 1.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congrats on 2 years! Must've been a crazy ride :)

Posted using Partiko Android

To say the least! There's been ups and downs, luckily more ups than downs

congrats! I've known you for 2 years already!!

Yes, you must have joined around the same time as well?

Hi @livinguktaiwan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.576 which ranks you at #1798 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 1794).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 250 contributions, your post is ranked at #50.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

You got a 36.94% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @livinguktaiwan! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hahaha - found your 2nd Steemit-versary post! 😄

Congratulations! 🎉💐💐
(albeit a bit late) - yeah, talking to self and self celebrations are the thing I guess, lol.... Hope to see each other here again by our 3rd! 😉

Congrats on 2 years! We have seen a lot in that time, haven't we? And I think the next two are going to be really exciting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69611.14
ETH 3805.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82