Micro-fiction Contest Entry Prompt "Test"

in #microfiction6 years ago

yx84o43iei.png

“Who gave you this?!

He asks again but I can’t speak a word. I brace myself for what is coming again. That one cracked a rib. To keep the secret is the only choice.

“Do you think we won’t kill you?”

My life was forfeit when I got caught. His words don’t matter. I brace again. There goes a tooth.

“Tough guy we got here but they all talk”

I won’t not a word of truth for I know what happens if I do. The pain will end for me in this world but my despair in the the next will never end. I know it’s coming, things fade to black.

“Wake him up!”

That smell what is it my mind burns back to life. I can taste the blood in my mouth. How did this happen? I don’t even know much to tell.

“There he is. Are you ready to speak yet?”

I take a deep breath.

“Bring me the torch”

Heat, I can feel it. This should be the end. Stay strong for just a little longer.

“This is a good recruit.”

I feel a pat on my back the heat is gone. The blindfold comes off and I can see the other members around. They toss the book back on my lap.

“If we are going to let you learn those secrets we have to know you won’t just give them away”

The book in my hands is different from before. “Templar”

Image Source


speculative fiction writers of steemit

Image by @EdibleCthulhu

Sort:  

great little story, I was not expecting the twist at the end. Nicley done @stever82

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

You're getting better. I also think you are pretty good at writing microfiction. Sometimes, shorter is better. In your case, I think it's stellar.

Thanks these are fun to do. It is really fast and helps to practice. I want to do that farmpunk post I just need more time to figure out what to do.

Hey, @stever82!

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steem community project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by stever82 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hey buddy @stever82,

Very good short story, I read it and it seems to me an extract of something greater, but very interesting.

I congratulate you, I think you're excellent.

Thank you for reading it and glad you liked it

Hi @stever82!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.115 which ranks you at #9591 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 78 places in the last three days (old rank 9669).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 399 contributions, your post is ranked at #90.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Good story. I liked how the guy was strong and didn't cave. He fully expected to die for the honor of keeping the secrets. The ending was unexpected, I'm glad he survived.


You just planted 0.10 tree(s)!


Thanks to @stever82

We have planted already
7562.23 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 27154.00
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74