Tales of a Robot Mercenary #1: Human Sale - Micro-fiction Story for the February 4th contest

in #microfiction5 years ago (edited)

Hello all,

This is my response to the micro-fiction story contest, with a goal of writing a story in 250 words or less. I’m trying to get myself into the habit of writing more, and am really happy there are so many options to do so here on Steemit. When I was younger, I used to love creative writing, and hopefully this will help me do so again. Thank you @jayna for hosting this, I look forward to future prompts and reading other’s stories.


https://steemit.com/contest/@jayna/zhach8j9ah

Topic: “Sale”


I walked into the building. My sensors picked up the intense odor of fear, mixed with the more common scents of humans. This was the right place. I had found the human sale. I scanned the room. Identifying my targets. Every person in here was armed, and there were robot guards every few feet. If I wasn’t the galaxy’s best mercenary, I’d be worried. But I was built to fight armies. This will be too easy. I targeted all of them, and released a cloud of nano drones. They filled the room, and within seconds everyone was dead, the drones having infiltrated their bodies and killed them. Walking over the corpses, I made my way to the back room. With a solid kick, the door down flew inwards with me diving right behind, and I shot the two remaining guards before the door hit the ground. Having rolled easily to my feet, I scanned the room, locating a dozen or so humans. There, huddled amongst the rest, was my target. Slowly, I approached, readying myself. “Hi Xeron. Your father hired me to save you and shut down this vile sale. Let’s go.”


This is how I imagine the building where this took place looks.


By Rodhullandemu - Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0, Link


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.


Until next time,

Namaste

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you for joining the contest, @nmcdougal94. Nicely done. You packed in a lot of action! And it's always nice to read a story with a hero.

Thank you :) I'm looking forward to entering more of these in the future.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nmcdougal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60704.04
ETH 2914.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32