Cologne - Micro Fiction

in #microfiction5 years ago

alex-sajan-373103-unsplash.jpg

They say the part of the brain that stores memories, is linked closest to our sense of smell. That's why people can unlock forgotten childhood memories, just by getting a whiff of something. That's what happened to me.

It was a cold Tuesday morning, I was heading into work. Walking across a shopping centre, my shoes squeaking on the tiles. I was considering turning back to pick up lunch from one of the eateries when the smell from the perfume shop stopped me. The poster in the window read Scent of the 70’s.

I inhaled deeply; sweet lemon, tangy bergamot, soft lavender, cutting anise and a dash of basil. Of course I couldn't identify the particular ingredients, I could only smell the whole picture.

I would have been six or seven, dressed in my favourite party dress, running away from my mum who was determined to attack my hair with a brush. I snuck into my parents room for shelter. But I walked into a cloud of fragrance. It was thick enough to fill my lungs and make my eyes water.

There he was. Stood facing a mirror, tightening his bow tie. He saw me enter and grinned as he turned to me. His arms reaching out to pick me up and lift me into the air. Laughter surrounding us and his face full of joy.

The memory made me tear up. I carried on walking to work smiling sadly to myself.

divider-2154993_640-small.png

This is my entry to @jayna’s Micro Fiction Contest. Find out about it here.

Image from Unsplash.

Divider.

Mizu no Oto Gaby banner.png

Sort:  

Memories of childhood mark the person for a lifetime. Congratulations @gaby-crb, your story is lovely.

This is so lovely and bittersweet, @gaby-crb. I love how you suggested the memory and reaction indicate the character’s father is no longer living, without saying it or turning maudlin. Beautifully done!

Congratulations @gaby-crb! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Beautiful and evocative story, although it fills us with a lot of nostagia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56