Unexpected Consequences - Micro-fiction writing conteststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #microfiction5 years ago (edited)

jg1hjq0sle.jpg

This entry is for @jayna's weekly micro-fiction writing contest. The story has a limit of 250 words and this week's prompt is "train". Here is the link to the original post, so come join us in the fun. The photo above is my own, taken on our cross country train trip, but the story below is 100% fictional!

Unexpected Consequences

I stood behind my husband in the observation car lost in thought. He was so excited to see the Colorado landscape unfolding outside the window. This was day 2 of our cross country train trip, destination San Francisco.

I had two more days to break the news and change our lives forever. 21 years of marriage to the wrong person had prepared me to fully appreciate what John and I had together now. This trip was in celebration of our five year anniversary.

Back in the summer we’d hit a snag in our perfect marriage. I wish we’d never attended his 20 year class reunion. An old girlfriend was particularly ecstatic to see him and intruded on the entire evening. I was livid with jealousy, feeling out of place and ignored, I left the party.

That next morning John admitted in guilt and contrition that he’d had too much to drink and made a terrible mistake out of anger. He’d had a “quickie” with the woman in the cloak room! He couldn’t look me in the eye, he’d said, and begged forgiveness.

Just a week ago, I received a phone call from that woman. She said she was pregnant and John was the father. Furthermore, a baby didn’t fit into her plans, and she wasn’t planning on keeping it. Did John and I want it?

So, two days to tell him she’ll be meeting us in San Francisco with the paperwork to sign. We’re going to be parents!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

blueeyes8960.gif


[credit@EdibleCthulhu]


99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYov37C6BjUdaTZT29DGryrTpwwdpqCgirPemMU3z3txPKvruXNYFGvejqt3VogK8zZfNHzdqCvnNPsC5V9vS9.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Wow, that was quite a surprise ending! I did not see that one coming. Nice job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35