You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Art & Mediocrity: A (VERY) Short Treatise On Crimes Against Art and Taste

in #michelangelo7 years ago

Thank you for sharing this post with me.
Reading this actually made me feel even more enthusiastic about this website.

I'm an old man and perhaps I can't quite grasp the concept of social media such as twitter, instagram or even the facebook almost everyone my age seem to enjoy very much... I find them shallow and although I respect that it can bring some sort of enjoyment and connection with others, it's just not the type of community I want to be a part of.

I live in a society and a country that's in shambles, and even if at some point Venezuela did seem like it'd have some sort of future now that idea it's just in the trash... Here the artists and cultural identity are slowly dying.

The new youth is more interested in pop culture, technology and other frivolities, but in a way, I'm sure there is also beauty in them.
Sometimes my daughter, who is 19 years old, shows me some new movie, a new show or music, and then I get that there is still good stuff out there, one just has to look for it.

I write stories that I like to share with some of my friends or family, and even if I'd always loved doing so, I never thought I would a place to share them, so finding this website was also mindblowing for me.

I just followed you, I hope you'll do the same and maybe read my stories and writings as I post them.

Sort:  

Thanks for your thoughtful response. It's heartening! I'm very sad to hear about your country.. in different ways, it is happening all over the world. We really must make a concerted effort to support each other as artists and try to turn this ship around--or at least keep producing little beautiful things for people like your daughter to find!

Just following back--I actually meant to before, so I'm glad you said something. I thought I already had!

Take care. I look forward to your posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01