Is Mexico Safe? An Americans perspective

in #mexico7 years ago

I live in Arizona so most vacation destinations in which you would drive to include California , Nevada,and Texas for different theme parks, beaches or national monuments.  Whenever I am getting ready excitedly to head off on a long treturous journey (being very facetious, it's half the drive time than it is to get to any beach in California ) and I tell people how excited I am, I get to hear these following typical statements/questions- "Isn't it dangerous?" " I hope you don't get kidnapped" "You aren't taking your kids there, are you?" 

My answers in the same order "Probably as dangerous as anywhere" "I hope not either but if I thought I had a high probability do you really think I'd be going?" And " Heck yes, I'd rather take them them there any time over most of the other semi near options"

Let me start off by saying I'm very much aware of the dangers in some parts of Mexico. When I say I'm going to Mexico, the proganda on main stream media makes all of Mexico seem like dirty, drug running, violent cities that I know do exist , hmmm kind of like parts of L.A. , parts of Chicago, and parts of New York, good ol New Orleans heck even some neighborhoods where I am from. When you see the vacation commercials for USA on t.v. or magazines are they showing those paradises?  

For us, we love the ocean , so as much as we want to visit cities like Guadalajara and others without an ocean we for now enjoy an approximate 3 and a half hour drive to a small city called Puerto Penasco otherwise known to Americans as Rocky Point. Is it pristine? Not really in the city compared to American cities, if you stay at a resort then yes. We found ourselves at first staying in the "safe" Americanized areas of Rocky Point , which if that is what you are looking for then great! There are resorts with sky rises, massages, fruity drinks made from a real 🍍. Then after a few years of visiting and deciding we would have our wedding there, we started needing to go into the city, meeting vendors, trying different restaurants, looking for connections for the best prices. That's when we fell in love with what makes Mexico amazing to us...... the people! 

We have met expats from the USA that own businesses & raise their children in Mexico, locals that have no desire to leave their home country. They mostly have these attributes in common- kindness and patience. Two things I didn't realize the importance of until going back and forth between our countries and not being able to pin point why I feel so much better when I am in Mexico. I was trying to keep an open mind knowing that when I am in Mexico it's usually for vacation so of course I am going to be more relaxed, so I tried to remember that aspect and pay attention to if there are other issues. I started to notice the difference in little things like hearing cars honk and people almost taking your vehicle & the occupants of it out because you are not driving fast enough. People constantly complaining everywhere I seem to be in USA, nothing is ever fast enough, good enough, big enough, threatening waiters who barely make money that if their dining experience isn't perfect then there goes their tip. People arguing over politics and letting hatred consume them if someone doesn't agree them. Parents acting like psychopaths at their children's sporting events.

I realized its just a different way of life, a different vibe. Family matters , people are patient and understanding. most Mexicans are fully aware their government is corrupt anyways so they band together as a people instead of fighting amongst each other. People are willing to stop and help. I have heard the arguments that say "of course they are nice , they can tell you are a tourist and want tips" sure some of them as employees, isn't that what the service industry is about everywhere? When we are lost in the middle of the city and ask someone walking on the side of the road, they have always done their best to help even with a language barrier to help, always smiling. We have actually tried to give a little "tip" sometimes to someone who helped knowing full well they could use any extra money , and they refuse, they look at you literally like you are crazy for trying to give something in exchange for help.

So is Mexico safe? If you do research and find places that aren't big cities (more people more chances of higher anything rates) or if you use your common sense like you should when traveling anywhere then Yes , absolutely. Not only safe but enjoyable and low stress. If you like matieralistic society, a "go go go, hurry , hurry, hurry" pace , will die without access to every electronic device and greatest technology, then it will not be for you. There are plenty of things to do that involve nature in many of the cities located near beaches , fishing, water sports, whale or dolphin watching, scuba diving, oyster farm visits , quads , some areas are great for hiking, different food options, sight seeing, some cities have circuses, ball games to watch , etc. 

I had read somewhere before on a blog that an expat from USA had written, they said they will gladly push the trash aside (some places are more littered ☹️ And the infrastructure isn't the greatest quality to be honest) , live without the best and fastest technology, to be able to enjoy hearing children laughing while not being screamed at by parents, and enjoying joyful interaction with complete strangers that don't even speak the same language, and live a happy , peaceful life.

I know Mexico is not perfect, I know there are some beautiful, quiet places in the USA but we are blessed enough to be close to the border to enjoy what Mexico has to offer. I actually try to go to doctors and dentists in Mexico whenever possible too, that's a whole different story on why I do that but another thing they have to offer that most people in America think is so much better in America & think I'm crazy for doing. 

I hope many people get a chance to experience a beautiful stress free time if they pick the right spot in Mexico, I wanted to put it out there that it is COMPLETELY possible! 

Some of my children enjoying an amazing sunset, and time with each other on a beach / development called Laguna Shores in Sonora , Mexico (part of the city of Puerto Penasco) in which it is the 2nd most flat place in the world that the tide goes back . You find some amazing things , octopus, large fully in tact beautiful sea shells, crabs, sand dollars, etc.

Sort:  

@gonzalestruth
Nice Job!
Keep the good work up!
Thanks for sharing

Thank you! My little family is actually hoping to move there someday . I really appreciate your encouragement

That's a great post thanks for sharing, I'm from Australia and would not think twice about going to Mexico. I can't wait to visit

I would love to see Australia! Every person that we have met from Australia have been so very nice & friendly . Thank you for your kind words, we are actually hoping to move to Mexico someday 😊

Congratulations @gonzalestruth! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52