stony meteorites - the achondrites or just regular space rocks

in #meteorites7 years ago

This is a great group, it contains rocks that recognizably come from mars or the moon...

Unrecognizable rock types in this category probably come from the crusts of asteroids and dwarf planets.

Lunar Meteorites

Over 100 Lunar meteorites have been discovered or identified in the last 5 decades.


By Anypodetos - Own work, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=19722329

Most of them left the moon only a couple of million years ago.

They are blasted off the surface of the moon during meteorite impacts.

They easily leave the moon due to its gravity and are likely to go into orbit around the earth, hence the relatively young age of the lunar meteorites discovered on earth.

Mars Meteorites

More than 100 martian meteorites have also been found so far.

These typically cover a wider range than lunar meteorites, since they may go into orbit around the sun and take much longer to drop down to our orbit and crash-land on earth.

Some are made of rocks that are billions of years old. Many are rocks that are similar to basalt.

Basalt is a very common volcanic rock here on earth and can be found around many of our volcanoes and lava flows, active and extinct.

These were formed when mars was more active volcanically in the past.

Some of the largest volcanoes in the solar system are found on mars.

One is Olympus Mons


By Image by NASA, modifications by Seddon - Edited version of File:Olympus Mons.jpg originally from http://nssdc.gsfc.nasa.gov/photo_gallery/photogallery-mars.html#features., Public Domain, Link

It is 2.5 times the height of Mount Everest...

...and almost the size of France.

By © Sémhur / Wikimedia Commons, FAL, Link

Sort:  

This is a super cool post. The super perspective of Olympus Mons, you give us at the end, is rather sobering and the shot just above, taken by NASA is still my favourite.

I still remember when the Google Earth Space came on, this is the #1 place I have seen. Mind blowing! I was watching a documentary about astrophysics again, a few months ago, and was struck once more by the immensity of this mountain, a dormant volcano of astronomical size.

Thanks for this short and very sweet post. All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

You are kind, thanks.

It is my pleasure, thank you. Namaste :)

Very interesting his work dear friend @ gavvet, his profecionalismo and his enthusiasm was what motivated me to write my post about the meteorites of my land, in the afternoon I will be publishing and I will get the link for your opinion.
Congratulations for another wonderful job.

I want to make you get the link of my post to give me your opinion, you think my first post in this category
Thank you so much
https://steemit.com/meteorites/@jlufer/history-of-the-meteorites-of-my-land-fields-of-heaven

I knew you would come up with another good post, in fact keep it up

thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94