St. Anger: Without question, Metallica's worst album

in #metal6 years ago (edited)

It isn't just their worst album, but also the worst album made by any established band, ever.
81gSwTcgSbL._SL1425_.jpg

I think the main reason I hate this album so much (and why so many other people do too) is because of the fact that it had been 6 years or so since their previous album and fans were really excited about the hype and how it was rumored they were “returning to their roots” in this album.

As a huge fan of "Kill em All," "Ride the Lightning," and "Master of Puppets" who was actually a bit disappointed with the black album's new sound, I was very excited upon hearing this news.

However, "returning to your roots" apparently means using equipment that you bought with your paper route money and recording with one microphone hanging down the middle of your Mom's garage and also letting your producer be part of the creation process and even play all the bass on the album.

There are apologists out there that say “you just have to pretend you aren't listening to Metallica and imagine it is any other band, then it is pretty good.”

What kind of crap statement is that? People wanted to specifically listen to Metallica, not just “some band.” I remember the saint Anger I felt after having spent $15 on this piece of crap that I should have turned into an AOL drink coaster after the first play-through. ZQ56B6CLwfBqCX7JadAH6o.jpga rare photo of Metallica laughing with eachother on their way to the bank

It was 2003 and back then people didn't put their entire lives on the internet (Facebook didn't exist yet) but I was so St Angry about this purchase that I found every available forum to rip this album apart to anyone that would listen. However, when I did find those forums there was already twenty thousand people there saying the exact same thing. Many fans were saying they would never buy another Metallica album ever again – which is great timing because right around 2003 is when people were no longer buying CD's anymore and Metallica's Lars Ulrich became a spokesperson for the anti-piracy witch-hunt that eventually failed and is subsequently why we now have Spotify.

I hesitate to even include a video because no one should be subjected to this drivel but it seems to be what I do so here is one of the songs that was considered to be good enough (by the production team) to make a video for and also feature as the first song (or hook) on the album.

it makes me saint angry to watch this

The lyrics are trite, the drums just sound terrible, and for me and millions of others it seemed as though Metallica was just going for a money grab and because of their star power they knew they would get away with it. They did get away with it too! This P.O.S. album reached number one in sales in many countries only to see it quickly dive bomb off the charts entirely after just a few weeks.

I was at one of their concerts and when James Hetfield said something like “anyone wanna hear something off our new album?” The crowd booed and the band laughed to one another off microphone, like they knew what they had done, as though they actually had disdain for their fans and knew they could do whatever they want. Thankfully, they only played one song from their new album.... even they realize that trying to promote it was impossible.

What do you think? Convince me I am wrong if you want. I think saying that this album has any merits is a pretty indefensible position to take...

Sort:  

First mistake: They tried to go back to their roots", I think it'd be better if the "sell" us a record as an honest product of their musical evolution. It was so non-original, and the drums are just BAD (not saying this only because I trully can't stand Lars) but what was the man trying to accomplish there?
And where are my Kirk solos? I demand solos!

I also can't stand Lars and also don't think he is a good drummer. It is rumored that on the St. Anger album that he used a programmed double kick pedal because he is not capable of doing it on his own after 30 years in the business.

Although I'm not sure I can actually disagree with you (St. Anger is terrible, and a HUGE disappointment), I've gotta say, it reminds me of "The Spaghetti Incident?" by GNR and "Pop" by U2. Those are a couple of older choices that have got to be included in any rock fan's top 5-10.

I did like “pop”!

i thought everyone hated POP. lol

The thing that especially kills me with this album like you mentioned is the drums.. its seriously like banging on garbage cans.. I don't even know what Lars was thinking.. or the sound engineers.. I hate Lars anyways but at least before he was just a douche who could play drums.... now he's just a douche.

Today i don't feel like listening to the music of metallica, not because am soo familiar with them or i've heard their music but because of the anger and tonation i sense in you article, most often you'd say a good thing then a bad thing about a band then i would play their songs ob youtube to judge things for myself but today is different, you actually detest them and am guessing hearing this particular album make you wanna gag. So in order to comprehend you better and relate with you i'd take a peek at the music, maybe i may hate it or perhaps even like it, who knows. Thanks for another great article so meticulously written, i look forward to more.

Good point

I think metallic will stand as a Valid reason why some folks may not really like music today
...smirk
I don't know about these guys, but I really won't wanna find out either after I watched the video you attached.

Like @fanen has said, I am not that lawyer ... hahahaha

Thank you for the great time, effort and research you pour into making your posts.
You Rock hard!!

I had say this, I laughed my ribs out when I got to this statement you made,

a rare photo of Metallica laughing with each other on their way to the bank

You must have said to yourself, OMG!, my $15 (not funny then, but I guess it is now)

The lyrics are trite, the drums just sound terrible

After watching the video, I guess I feel your pain, If this is their best as you pointed, I wonder how the other tracks sound then.

I was at one of their concerts and when James Hetfield said something like “anyone wanna hear something off our new album?” The crowd booed and the band laughed to one another off microphone, like they knew what they had done, as though they actually had disdain for their fans and knew they could do whatever they want.

About that, am surprise people even still took themselves to their concert!, OMG!

What do you think? Convince me I am wrong if you want. I think saying that this album has any merits is a pretty indefensible position to take...

@gooddream, this is so unfair to anyone who may dare, you are asking a lawyer(that someone) to defend an accused(Metallica) who committed murder/treason right in view of the judge(people). I must say, good luck to you lawyer.

Wow, do not go too, it was not the worst, life is a matter of taste. For me the fact that Hetfield put him in rehabilitation during the process of making this album affected him a lot.

Agree with you. St Anger was a terrible album, but Death Magnetic wasn´t so good either.

I heard "Moth into flame" from their new album. Feels more like the good old times :)

Realmente muy popular, para muchos idolos, para mi buenos musicos que estudiaron y emprendieron en su carrera de forma enfocada para lograr lo que son!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Nice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45