Worlds BEST heavy singer! ... And a taboo hand sign. ;)

in #metal6 years ago

An interesting story has risen from a recent post I did, which had given me some inspiration for this one.
We started a debate about the origin of the "horns" hand sign.
I don't know the real origin of the hand sign, but I do know the official story from the metal scene.
The specific sign was brought into the metal music scene by Mr. Ronnie James Dio (the fine gentleman on the photo).


photo source

Mr. Dio, who passed away in 2010, would explain he had seen his very religious Italian grandmother using this gesture for protection against bad spirits...
He would start using the sign on his performances and from there it went globally.
I believe this happened because Ronnie was (and still is) our planets most skilled rock/metal singer.
Comparing to Bruce Dickinson and Freddie Mercury, Dio's skills are at least one step more advanced.
Leaving other amazing singers like Plant, Rose, Grohl quite somewhere behind.
Woah, I almost forgot Mr. Ted Neely.
Also a maaad guy, still on tour in his 74th year (the Jesus Christ Superstar guy).
And there are plenty of other bad ass singers...
Still, I'm pretty convinced none of these guys could beat Dio's singing ability (till today).
Don't get me wrong, these are all wild, worlds best heavy singers, who know their profession very well.
The top 3 is still unbreakable. :)
We could debate about it...
Any active metalheads around? :)


One song for making you better feeling XD

P.s.: Today's special offer, still looking for a band to tour the world.
Tonite. ;)

Love,
Ace

Sort:  

Hi @acedawnmusic
For sure Dio is one of the best singers of hard-rock/heavy metal music. I saw him a couple of times, in the late 90s in Barcelona, and one year before his death in Monza, Italy (Gods Of Metal) with Heaven & Hell (you know, with Tony Iommi). That concert was amazing, both (Iommi and Dio) did an incredible concert.
Talking about singers, it is really difficult to say who is in the same level of Dio, let me say some names that I love how they sing:

Glenn Hughes: we can still consider him the voice of rock
Richie Kotzen: year by year he is improving his voice, for me one of the singers of the moment.
Jay Buchanan (Rival Sons): one of the best "new voices" of the las decade.
Josh Kiszka (Greta Van Fleet): A Robert Plant's clone, let's see what happens with him and his voice in the next years.

Hi @calisay
Thank you for your reply. A really nice one.

You've been fortunate. :)
I couldn't catch Mr. Dio... But his music remains.

Thank you for your top choice.
While I'm not a huge fan of Mr. Hughes, the other guys I find pretty awesome.
Didn't know them before.
Thanks for letting me know. :)

Are you a fan or do you have any kind of other relations with the music?

If you have any more cool infos regarding the more heavy likes of music, I'd be glad if you shared them with us. :)

Rock on! ;)

Hey @acedawnmusic

I'm a rock fan, and also manager of a band and main manager of a rock music festival, so yes, I'm really into music.

All my posts are related to rock & blues music so if you check them you'll see my fav music, concerts...

I'm trying to contribute to Steemit with what I like most, rock music.

Cheers!

Awesome!
I've already been checking some of your articles.
We've got some common interests. :)

Would you please give me some links about the band and the festival?
I'm very interested!

Quite a decent band and a pleasant looking festival.
All the respect!

Do you have the space to take care of some more artists?
How do you work with the band?
I'm very interested because I'm sure I could need some guidance on my way.
I might also know a handful of dedicated artists from our region who could need some managing services as well...

I do both things as a hobby, it isn't my job so I'm only managing this band because they are my friends and don't plan to manage more bands.
I want to do a post on Steemit about managing a band, but must have some free time to do it. Hope it will be soon.

Ok. Please do so. :)
The article will be greatly appreciated!
There is no such thing as (free) time. :D Haha.
All the best! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59467.52
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38