@Goldendawne's Show Me Yours and I'll Show You Mine - Pantry Contest!

in #messypantry6 years ago

No, that did not say "Panty Contest." Just calm down.

Your good friend and mine, the incomparable @goldendawne, has started a new contest this week! We get to show off our PANTRIES. Hahaha!!
I admit...she got me.

We have lots of cabinet space. However, all but two of the cupboards are full of dishes. I try to only go grocery shopping once a month. Try. It takes a lot of cabinet space and a lot of refrigerator and freezer space. We keep a full large chest freezer on the back porch, then our large refrigerator and its freezer are usually completely full as well. The cabinets are shoved full. I'm out of space!!!

We were visiting a local flea market one day searching for furniture for a friend's apartment when I found a beautiful old stand-up freezer. The tag said it worked. It was only $150! It became mine.

freezer collage.jpg

We brought it home and hooked it up. It hummed to life and worked like a charm. I kept it as an extra freezer for a few years but when it finally needed defrosting, I was able to empty everything into the new chest freezer. That eliminated the need for my vintage freezer. However, I brought it back inside.

If you should know anything about me, it's that I can't leave a horizontal surface or cupboard space empty. I will eventually take over. So that's what I did to this freezer. Eventually, it began holding the foods that wouldn't fit into the cabinets. Now we call it the "pantry." I've never in my life had a "pantry." Just cupboards full of a mishmash of food.

Here is my Vintage Freezer Pantry!

20180208_151803-01.JPG

I know things are secure in here as the dogs haven't figured out how to open the door yet. Crackers and cookies stay pretty fresh in here as well, since it seals. It's pretty perfect for our needs and fits right in.

I wish I knew more about this freezer. I'm sure a quick Google search would reveal more than I know. One day I'll get around to that. Not today though. ;)

Show us your PANTRIES!!! Enter @goldendawne's contest and show us!

Sort:  

I’m impressed by the wok balanced on top of whatever that appliance is. That takes “not leaving a horizontal surface empty” (even a tiny one?) to new heights (pun intended haha). That’s a neat old freezer!

I laughed at panty contest :-))) I’ll have to get a pic of my PANTRY tomorrow!

HAHAHA!!! Oh gosh!!! It's a bread machine. There's also a toaster on there, behind the machine. Sometimes there a chip bags in the wok! Haha!!

Wok = chip holder, that’s awesome! Hahahaha!

LOVE IT GIRL. I have almost the same vintage freezer. Love the idea of this contest. I have been away with my kids this week and hope I have not missed this. Great post

Thanks so much, @gardengirlcanada! Hope your kids weren't ill or anything. Stay warm!

I LOVE your freezer! Mine is not that old, but my Dad had it in his restaurant before my 37 year old son was born and it wasn't new when he got it. But still works like a charm!

Isn't it amazing how well made things like that are? Thanks, @fernowl13!

It is! I just wish things would last that long these days. My house turns 30 this year. I just replaced the original dishwasher in November. But I have lived here 11 years now, and we have had 3 washer and dryers.

We are on our second gas stove and second dishwasher since we were married in 2001. I wish we weren't such a disposable society.

Your pantry is much too neat to win 1st or 2nd prize! A prize for being messy??? Who would have guessed. I bet you win for originality though...great idea!

And to think I didn't even move anything when I opened it! Haha! Thank you so much, @anise!

You should win for originality! I love you and your vintage PANTRY!!!

Aww, haha! Thanks, @sallyswitchblade! You're so sweet!

What a cute idea. I have a 1951 fridge with the little freezer inside and we use it as our fridge. It has worked for this long and hasn't stopped, so we keep her going. She has to be defrosted about twice a year and I think it uses LESS energy then new ones, as it closes tight with the latch so no cold leaks out whilst modern ones just have the rubber seal.
This really is adorable.

Well, if it ever stops you know what to do with it! Haha! Thanks, @donnadavisart!

hah hah you got a laugh out of me. that would be the NSFW homesteading contest!! LOL!! cool old fridge!

Haha! I'm glad I made you laugh. :) Thanks, @mountainjewel!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33