[CR] Mermaid Monday Contest: Duo Tone

in #mermaidmonday5 years ago

Hello Steemians,

I made this mermaid drawing as my entry to the Mermaid Monday Contest of @nymia.aryn. I encourage you to join and read the details of the contest here
image
The theme this week is duo-tone. I chose pink and navy for my two colors. My idea is to show an iridescent tail that seem to change colors from a different angle. I have no clue how to achieve that effect and what kind of brush will I use. It was never easy for me but I kept trying.

Here is a bit of the process I took to make this art:
image
Creating the shape and look of the tail. I want long and slender tail plus fins randomly appearing around it. I want my mermaid to have wings but in the form of translucent fins that are skeleton-like. I was going for short hair initially because the fins are already long.
image
I started coloring the mermaid, I think this shade of blue and pink are perfect for my vision. At this stage I am deciding what accessory to put on the mermaid. I want a lyre at first in gold but that is adding a third color. So, a colorless trident will be alright.
image
I removed the big fin in front, it's too much for me. At this stage I put a dark background to see how it will fit the whole look. Creating the iridescent look on the tail took a lot of time because I can't find the right brush. I added the details on the lower pink find, I put more highlights to make them pop against the navy blue. I think that pink hair and wings do not look good so I had to hide them.
image
This is how it looks like without the bubble gum pink hair and it is much simpler and I love it. The last detail that took a lot of time is the hair. I was just playing with smudging it until fade and before I knew it I got a long dark hair filled with seaweeds and anything that crawls.

That's the story behind my entry hope you like it. Thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66188.19
ETH 3564.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14