So, Where Have I Been? A Brief State of the Brain Address...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #mentalhealth6 years ago (edited)

Steemit-Covers (39).png

I can’t remember the last time it’s been this long of a gap between blog posts here on Steemit... For me, it feels like an eternity! Since I started really actively blogging last June, this place has been the perfect way to express myself, to check in with myself about goals, to share what I’ve been working on, and to send those little PINGS out into the universe in the form of random mystical thoughts that my brain dreams up.

I do hate with this blogging muscle starts to feel like it’s going rusty. I’ve been having trouble even starting this post, but lately, my brain feels SO full of logistics and pre transition energy- that I’m having a hard time narrowing down any clear or cohesive thoughts to put together for a post for you.

E8019910-4C26-4DAB-B634-3F31FD2A60B5.JPG

"Blog like no one is reading..."

In addition, my clients have all seemed to kick it into high gear (only took 3 months into 2018!) and while In the long term I’m transitioning away from relying on them, it’s been a slow start to the year and I’m thankful to be able to be putting in some directly billable hours.

I’m here, and well, and taking things day by day but it’s been a bit tricky transitioning from a few weeks of having absolutely terrible focus, to having great focus, but on someone else’s work. I’m going to try my best to start putting my blogging first, (quite literally in the beginning of the day) and make sure that I have proper steemit time to stay in touch before I start in on my other tasks for the day.

B0A8AFC1-88DF-4493-A4ED-5F603A998DAA.JPG

Energy and focus are such a precious resource, I’ve needed a bit of time to just CHILL!- In my last walkwithme post, I shared our awesome day out which was SO good for me. The sunny warm weather is trying its best to break past the last of the cold rainy winter soul crushing routine, and on those days I want to be OUT- absorbing that sun and it’s vitamins for the sake of my mental and physical health.

2018-03-28 17:20:50 +0000.GIF

Haha I bet this sounds like a bunch of excuses. And maybe it is, but I believe that if you’ve taken the time to follow me here, you deserve to know what’s up!

We’ve been working on podcast episodes (posted on @teamaudio) and I’ve been trying my best to keep positive about the fact that a week after STEEMCAMPUK I’ll be packing my bags to go back to the states and away from my dear Mouse until we figure out more logistics. Haha so yeah! A lot going on in my little brain- taking it day by day.

E6B82FCF-7002-4888-BD50-4869EC9FEE03.JPG

Please know that if you follow me, or if you’ve stopped to read this, I appreciate the hell out of you. And I’m looking forward to giving some of you squeeze at @steemcampuk in a little over a week! I'm here, I'm well- I'm happy, fed, watered and I'll continue to be OK, just a little overwhelmed at the moment.

<3
Dayleeo

Sort:  

I’ve been all upended recently and I firmly blame the arrival of my midlife crisis. I blame the the arrival of my 40th year in a few weeks time.

I’ve felt this coming for some time after being made redundant in October 2016. Until that point I was mostly on top of my game, had clear professional ambitions and was in a company that was supporting them. Since then I started a new career at the bottom and am finding it increasingly frustrating. This impacts my drive and then quality I fear. That with stupid hours leaves me questioning everything at the moment. Firmly stuck in that big ol’ rut. It’s amazing how that then feeds into your personal drive.

I’ve a week off now and I hope it helps me reboot and see the wood for the trees. I need to feel some purpose outside of paying bills and being a daddy. Not a dress rehearsal and all that.

ch-ch-changeeessss! as bowie would say! reboot sounds like the perfect term, take this as an opportunity to take inventory of what makes you happy and ditch the rest! Not many folks get that opportunity in such a drastic way, or worse yet- they fail to see it !

I totally understand. And I love that - even on days like this - you manage to come up with a nice post that is very much 'you' :>)

I myself finally arrived - an hour or so ago - at an airbnb/ caravan on the countryside of South Portugal. Got my wifi back after almost 48 hours without.

Here's some rays of positive!

Vincent

We'll THATS something to be thankful for! I know we like to think we'd be fine without connectivity, and in the long term of course we would adapt, but our connection was practically non-existant for the first few hours of the work day and we were feeling the struggle- glad you got sorted!

Yeah, sometimes it's hard, but there is no "blogging muscle" (which sounds totally weird), just willpower.

I'd beg to differ on that one friend, its certainly a muscle within the brain and of course im not being literal, but willpower only gets you part of the way there, I could WILL myself to fly all day, but at the end of the day I don't have the biology to do so.

It's also having a standard and passion for what you write, everyone's is different, but If I force it just for the coin fueled by stubbonrness- it feels very fake

Everyone's got their own process :) its all about allocation of time and mental resources

I can understand where you are coming from. So much to do. So little time. And then you'll be winging back to the US. That part will be tough. But you are stronger than you know and you two will find a way to be together. You make an awesome team!

Thank you friend! It's been nearly 3 years of the back and forth, and it gets somehow easier, but still quite an awful experience- airport goodbyes are the worst because you're feeling all mystical and emotional and heartbroken and then it's PUT YOUR LIQUIDS INTO THIS BAGGIE! LOL

The post has been great and it is very useful

this is not a space for advertising friend. next time you'll be flagged.

I'm sorry, I did not, my account was hacked

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99