MENOPAUSE - NOT LIFE-PAUSE: - there is help out there

in #menopause8 years ago

Menopause is a fact of life for women as they get older. We have all experienced the
hot flushes, sleepless nights, low energy , dryness etc etc etc ....But for many
women, the symptoms of menopause can be problematic. Additionally, post menopausal
women have an increased risk of osteoporosis and heart disease.
So are their any green smoothie foods that can help older women maintain their
health, and possibly alleviate symptoms of menopause?  I am a great advocator of
healthy foods and supplements.  So when I began to experience some of the above
symptoms I decided to do a little research on how I could improve my diet and
increase my energy levels, gain back some sleep-time and to bring the symtoms of
menopause under some control as NATURALLY as possible.
I came across several different articles and researches done by various bodies and
the one thing in common I found from reading that FLAXSEED and CALCIUM increases can
help towards alleviating some of these symptoms.
 So are their any green smoothie foods that can help older women maintain their
health, and possibly alleviate symptoms of menopause?
Well, a lot of research is pointing to one particular green smoothie ingredient that
shows some benefits – flaxseed!
FLAXSEEDS AND SOYA MAY PROVIDE RELIEF FROM SOME MENOPAUSAL SYMPTOMS
Flax seeds contain plant compounds known as phytoestrogens (particularly lignans),
which can have estrogenic effects in humans. While not a substitute for
human-produced estrogen (estradiol) or estrogen replacement therapy, research
suggests that a diet rich in flaxseed (and isoflavone-rich soy) may reduce symptoms
associated with menopause including hot flashes.
WELL ! that was enough  for me to give it a try.  Along side my intake of Zinc and
Magnesium to alleviate those tired leg feelings, I decided to give the flaxseed and
Soya Milk smoothies a go.  I was already a smoothie drinker, usually having them for
breakfast, but had not added any of the Super -Foods.; so high on my shopping list
went flaxseed and soya-milk. ( I had been using coconut water previously)
Below I have listed a selection of Smoothies that contain flaxseed and soya; having
tried them and enjoyed them now for quiet some time, I can honestly say that I feel
so much better.  I have increased my energy levels, and have upped my exercise
routine.  My sleep pattern has improved a little bit, but I have never been a big
sleeper, so this could be down to my increase in exercise - power walking !  Hot
flushes, didn't experience this all the time before, but when I did it was like a
fire, now when I do, its a lot less.  What I have found though is my energy levels
have increased the most and this I am truly grateful for.  
I can't say this will work for everyone, but it did for me.  You've nothing to loose
by giving it a go, but everything to gain.  If you try it, leave a comment to let me
know if it did or didn't help.  
GOOD SMOOTHIE-ING   #bye-byehotflushes #smoothiesforhealth #goodhealth 
GREEN SMOOTHIE RECIPE FOR MENOPAUSE
1) Coconut-Citrus Kale Smoothie
– 2 oranges, peeled and deseeded
– 1 medium banana, peeled
– 1 tablespoon flax seeds, ground
– 3 cup kale, chopped
– 1/4 lime, peeled
– 8 ounces unsweetened coconut soya milk

2) Coconut-Grapefruit Green Smoothie Recipe
– 1/2 red grapefruit, peeled and deseeded
– 1 kiwi, peeled
– 2 cups kale, chopped
– 1 banana, peeled
– 2 cups fresh baby spinach
– 8 ounces unsweetened coconut soya milk

3 Banana-Papaya-Blueberry Green Smoothie
– 1 banana, peeled
– 1 cup papaya, cubed
– 1 cup blueberries
– 1 teaspoon cinnamon
– 3 cups spinach
– 1 tablespoon chia seeds, soaked for about 5 minutes
– 8 ounces almond soya milk

( chia seeds add bulk to smoothies, make sure you stir afterwards)

4)  Peach-Orange Green Smoothie
– 2 medium peaches, pitted
– 1 tablespoon flax seeds, ground
– 3 large Swiss chard leaves  ( spinach or kale can substitute)
– 1/4 large avocado
– 1 orange, peeled and seeds removed
– 4 to 6 ounces unsweetened, organic soymilk

Basic Green Smoothie
- 1 banana
- 1 apple 
- 1 carrot - cleaned but not peeled
- 3 cups of spinach or kale
- 1 tablespoon of flax seeds, ground
- 1/2 tsp level, Spirulina ( superfood from health stores)
- 8 ounces coconut soya milk
Don't be surprised by the very green colour this will turn

* when using soya milk, choose the one that you like the most from coconut, almond,
hazelnut.  I used the unsweetened varieties and a lot of  trial and error to find
the one I liked the taste of . 
ENJOY   #smoothies #health #womenshealth 

Sort:  

On behalf of my other half.... Some good points, advice and info...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66704.41
ETH 3487.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.99