Remembering Don on his birthday

in #memories6 years ago (edited)
Today, May 1st, woud have been my husband's birthday if he had not passed away a few years ago. He was ten years older than me, so he would have turned 73 this year. I talked to his sister a short while ago, and we remembered him fondly.

RedDoor.jpg
"🇹🇭🇪 🇷🇪🇩 🇩🇴🇴🇷" • 🇵🇭🇴🇹🇴 🇧🇾 🇲🇪

This is the house where we lived. My husband took great delight that it was the only house on the entire street with a red door. It was such a charming house with lots of beautiful, dark wood around the door facings and window encasements. It had real hardwood floors, not the cheap "laminate" stuff they pass-off as "hardwood" flooring nowadays. My husband had grown up in the house and took possession of it when his parents became elderly. So, that house was as much a part of him as anything else in this world, and I miss living there.

So, thinking of you today — rest in peace, My Love. 💖

elegantPINK-1769669_1280.png

TheAlliance-banner++.png

GoldenProjectBanner-01.jpg

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

LadiesOfSteemit-03.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

there is peace in the place where your husband goes ... my dear friend ... I hope so. And his spirit is always with you.

I'm so sorry, your house is wonderful. I hope your time with him was wonderful. My husband is 11 years older than me. Sounds like he was too young. that must be difficult. :(

My youngest boy happens to share May 1st with your late husband as his birthday as well. That is a really special day for both of us now, I liked his choice of the red door , very nice accent to your home.

Beautiful house and wishing you comfort and peace

Hmm...a lovely tribute to your husband. Mine is 17 years my senior, and will be 72 this year, so your sadness resonates for me.

Beautiful post honoring your late husband. Very touching :) And that house is so magnificent :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67