Echoes from Einstein 2 and a flood of memories.

in #memories7 years ago

drawing-1158842_960_720.jpg
Image - Pixabay

It is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge.


Albert Einstein

I meant this to be just a nice quote which would have some benefit to a Steemian out there but as I wrote it memories flooded my mind.

When looking back on my school career I must sadly say that 90% of my teachers at the time were only interested in getting our heads filled with dates and facts.
As a young child in primary school, we were given spelling tests, at the end of the test we had to line up to receive "cuts" from our teacher, one for every spelling mistake, this was applied to our hands as you can imagine, after receiving 3 cuts on each hand our palms would swell and we would be unable to concentrate or write. This was my education in the 1950's.

boy-311657_960_720.png
Image - Pixabay

Our teacher carried with her what she termed her magic cane which she applied liberally for any sort of misdemeanor, even after 60 years I still carry the images of children hopping around as they got whacked on the hands. In high school our social studies teacher would punch us in the chest. He would walk past our desks and fire off a question, if you were not fast enough in replying or gave the wrong answer you would receive a punch in the chest, which in many cases knocked you over the back of the chair. I still harbour a feeling that they were sadists and enjoyed the power that that their role gave them.
We had good, intelligent teachers as well, who enjoyed being with us and made learning a pleasure but unfortunately when I think back I have the clearest memories of punchers and caners.

Somehow we managed in spite of the treatment we received, we managed to get and education and make our way in life. I somehow think that the "Spare the rod and spoil the child" saying was too literally applied.

So for all you teachers out there in this more enlightened time, I know that you have a difficult task and I wish that we had had you as teachers back then, for I believe that many good minds were lost in the old process.

mathematics-989124_960_720.jpg
Image - Pixabay

Sort:  

Many thanks @petruska13 for sharing your memories from a sad history. What makes it sad is that it is true and it continues to date (maybe not physically but psychologically) affecting many peoples lives.
It is sad to see the evil state that some humans can reach and use it to take out their rage on children and other people.
I hope the future will carry better education practices, although the education system is still far from ideal. As long as there are monsters in the image of humans, there will always be abuse and exploitation.
Here is hoping for better though :D
Love and peace :)

Thanks for the comment. It was a bad time, many of the teachers resorted to violence and at least one student in my old school responded in kind. Thankfully things have improved but the education system still needs lots of improvement.

Many thanks for your reply and engagement.
I am a curator and I mentioned your post Here if you would like to check it out :D

In my country there used to be a tradition to put children on their knees in a corner for as long as teachers pleased. The hard part was that there were peas under the children, so they most definitely were not comfortable. Thankfully my generation didn't have to experience that anymore.

It was a difficult time. I never enjoyed school but as I got older, I realised how much I had missed, teachers have an enormous responsibility.

Oh my how terrible! This is the reason why corporal punishment is now illegal, it was misused and the behavior was truly abusive. How can you truly learn something when you are so scared to make a mistake? Thanks for sharing something from "back in the day".

The article is informative and helpfull

Thank you for your comment, I am glad that you found it helpful.

Education system in those days was bad, but even today education at school doesn't prepare you for life after school. Would be nice if schools would focus more on that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60514.84
ETH 2575.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56