Give Me Liberty or Give Me Death

in #memes5 years ago

#TribeVibes
#SteemMonster
#Utopian
#Comedy
#IndyMedia
#Promo-Steem
#Teamsteem
#EsotericNoetic
#Wisdom
#SocialCommentary
#Philosophy
#Liberty

The United States of America was not founded as a democracy but as a constitutional republic. The founding fathers believed that in order for freedom to be upheld, the individual rights of its citizens would not be beholden to the majority. This is not to exclude the importance of democracy, but only in so much as not to infringe on a
person's individual rights. Contrary to popular belief, the majority does not get to decide what I do with my body, my life, my property, or how I express my thoughts and opinions. Moreover, it does not get to force me to help others or sacrifice my life and liberty in the pursuit of the greater good, for the very act of force or coercion taints the fruits of any charity with the seeds of violence.


18952607_1386335898081950_3790709055558697973_n.jpg

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84