You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If I Forget (Original Poem) - [Alzheimer's & Dementia Themed] - daily memento

in #memento7 years ago

It is such a nasty Illness, my Mother had it as well and her last few years were so hard to see, her memory was all but gone she didnt recognize any of us kids, well the weird thing was she did recognize me about one out of three times when I visited but on and off and fleeting things from the long past

I hope you can find the photo, its a memory I so hope you can see again

This poem is very emotive and definitly touched my emotions, thanks so much for that and the memoties it has generated

Tip!

Sort:  

Thank you, I am glad in a way I could reach some emotions as I love writings that can do that. I am so sorry you also had to go through something similar but even worse as it was your own mother. Thank you so much for sharing that, it is not an easy thing to have to deal with by any means.

It is not a nice illness to watch but luckily my mum was in a home before it got to bad

Sending positive energy to your grand parents

Thank you for the vibes. That's the part that kills me. He should be in a home now and the doctors who treat him are surprised he's not but they are in Canada and on the list and have been for almost a year and a half and there is still no spot for him. Unfortunately that is taking its toll on my grandmother (and she knows it), and I fear a bit for her if more time continues to pass without the help he really needs as she suffers significantly by this. There is no win I tell you.

Ohh no 😒that is so tough my dad knew his health was failing and got them both into a care facility where mum would be in good care when he passed
He never let on to anyone how bad he was, he was that determined and positive man for sure
He also had money set aside Yo cover the cost of the facility

If I was half the man he was I would be happy

Hoping you grandparents can get into one quickly it’s to much for your grand mother

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56677.48
ETH 2329.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36