You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If I Forget (Original Poem) - [Alzheimer's & Dementia Themed] - daily memento

in #memento7 years ago

It is such a cruel illness, but thankfully nowadays modern medicine can prolong the forgetful stage so that no one is as likely to die from it as in the past like my Mom did. I'm so sorry for your pain and the pain of your grandmother while she waits for a place in the home for your grandpa.

My Mom was only 60 when she started with Dementia, and my Dad took care of her for 13 years. She spent another year in the Alzheimer's unit of a small hospital back in Scotland where she eventually died of the disease when her body had forgotten how to sit, stand, talk, eat, and finally breathe. Alzheimer's is not just about losing your memory.

Thankfully, your grandpa should be spared all that today with modern medicine. My Mom died in 2001 and it was too late for her to have any of the drugs that are so widely available today.

I hope you find that picture that means so much to you. And thanks for sharing your story.

Sort:  

Wow, I am so sad and sorry that your mother passed before the time of the available medicine, yes it certainly has helped at least with some of the memory issues. That is wonderful that he took care of her for 13 years even throughout that all, my Grandparents are in their early 80's and unfortunately, her being a caregiver to him has become more than I think wanted to handle, it has taken its toll on her and is continuing to do so.

Thank you for your kind thoughts and I hope that they both get some peace soon, in terms of her everyday life and living peacefully as she would like and him getting the help he does need. I do hope I come across the picture as well, I will keep looking. Thank you for sharing your experience as well.

My Dad would have been 79 when my Mom died at 74, so a bit younger than your grandparents too. My Dad is still living at 95!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56516.28
ETH 2315.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34