Why So Serious? – Content length

in #meme7 years ago (edited)
meme

Someone far far away may has time for reading those lengthy posts.


Image Credits
The meme is own work; all rights of the original image belongs to its respective owners.

Sort:  

I think this post makes a good point. Sometimes a great post isn't about length, but it's about the point. I've learned through sales, in order to grab someones attention, is to be short and to the point. Now after you have their attention, that's a different story.

Man, this hits me..

You've written this as a joke but I find it a very serious subject. There do seem to be an influx of very short posts that get high dollar amounts given. Whereas someone who writes long fiction novels, broken up in the chapters, doesn't always get the recognition they deserve. I guess it's about balance.

I don't think that Steem is good for long contents, like novels, with it's one week payment period. It's still better for that purpose than e.g. Facebook, but it's far from a perfect place for timeless contents. It's good for advertising a novel and getting a few bucks, but selling it only this way is a bad idea IMO.

Why can't we have it both ways? We each should strive to create for the audience we would like to attract to our respective blogs. Some people read long blog posts, other people don't want to read long blog posts. Neither one of those groups is doing it right or wrong, they are just using the platform for what they are interested in :)

I would like an UI feature that is common on blogs, reading time.

I find it interesting when users follow hundreds of writers who write ten minutes posts. They have infinite time for sure, or just don't give a shit 99.99% of the posts.
I hope they do the first, and share their secret with me. I really need it. Please! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61785.67
ETH 2891.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54