You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stop Using Facebook!

in #meme6 years ago (edited)

Oh yes, big 'ol fucking upvote for this post :)

I quite FB in 2011 after arriving back in the States from a couple years in Uni in Australia. It was a great tool in the early days for connecting with classmates and friends, lining up get-together blah, blah, blah. And then of course, it grew too big, too centralized, went public and became a worthless piece of crap.

When I quite, my friends assured me that I would become a non-entity, disappear socially. Well, that didn't happen. Instead of wasting time on superficial bullshit, I actually spent time sharing ideas and content over on G+. G+ was great for a while. It wasn't oriented around friends, just ideas, memes, and sometimes content. Had some good discussions there and enjoyed it for a while, but....fucking Google. I'm pretty much done forking over all of my digital details to evil Google (this is a slower process of disconnection though since Google is much more insidious and has tentacles into many aspects of lots of people)

So welcome to the DPL! Come on Steemit, don't let me down!! Been great here so far, creating content (writing short fiction here), connecting with thinking folks rather than sharing the superficial bullshit of the day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61634.81
ETH 2971.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49