You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Existential Twist of the NPC MEME: The Fine Line Between Auto-Pilot and Cruise Control

in #meme6 years ago

I don't believe anyone is spoofing anything, just that it's a possibility. And what's stopping me from changing my beliefs is the simple fact that you can't just change your beliefs whenever you want. You can't believe that the water in your glass is dark blue if you see it and it seems clearly transparent.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I didn't ask if it was possible though but whats the purpose. You're saying that you don't see others as real as you, but you've no qualifier for what that proof would be or any idea of what would be a qualifier but you believe that they aren't really real based on what then?

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm not saying people aren't as real. Just that I can't verify it. I don't know what would verify it and I don't think it's possible, but if it were, I'd like it to happen.

Dunno what the purpose would be. 👀 Ask them. I don't believe in flat earth either because it just doesn't seem to make sense to me as a theory. But to each their own.

Posted using Partiko Android

So lets recap:

You don't know what would be qualified as proof for being "real as you" and you doubt that people are real, as real as you. When I ask you what you think the purpose would be for such a vast conspiracy you refer me to "them". Because you believe that people aren't really like you, or "the water you see is transparent" yet on the flipside you have absolutely no reason to believe that they aren't real but you really wish you could change your belief on that, but alas, you cannot because to you, people aren't real, or "how would you ever believe someone that people are real when you have doubts of themselves bring real".

Posted using Partiko Android

It's not that I don't think people are real. I just don't know. I can't. I refer to "them" based on a cliche. I don't and can't know what or who would spoof what I perceive. I don't know if it's happening, and I couldn't know it if the spoofing were being done well. What are we arguing about again? Ah, perceptual relativism. It's just a matter of scepticism on the lowest level of existence.

Posted using Partiko Android

What stops you from knowing someone is as real as you or conversely why do you doubt they are as real as you?

If you don't think people are less real than you, then why do you doubt their realness?

It's never about who or what would spoof you, but why.

Why are you skeptical of such a thing which it appears you recognize as something you'd rather not be skeptical of?

Posted using Partiko Android

I can't know if someone other than me is real because I cannot verify it. I don't know if the people around me are real and that's different from thinking they are less real.

There are many why's that could be, but they are so infinite that I'd just rather think of the possibility and leave it at that.

Imagine that you went to war. You have PTSD. You knew children died, but you saw them in person, dying one by one, their blood pouring onto the floor in front of you. You'd rather unsee it and believe that it didn't happen. Children die, yes, but just that once, you'd want to forget. I want to believe that there is an afterlife, a God, magic, unicorns dragons and fantasy, but I can't. I don't think any of them are real. Can I change that fact? Nope. I'd still like to believe in some of those things and see them around me. Imagining I have a purpose would be more pleasing than imagining that I don't have any. Imagining beauty where there isn't. I'd love to delude myself into being happy rather than suffer the consequences of my knowledge in such an unavoidable situation, because this knowledge does not help me at all in any way, but it removes my ability to feel certain things.

Posted using Partiko Android

You don't know that they aren't real, so alluding to "wishing otherwise" is not something that you base on knowledge.

I'd love to delude myself into being happy rather than suffer the consequences of my knowledge in such an unavoidable situation, because this knowledge does not help me at all in any way, but it removes my ability to feel certain things.

You deluded yourself into doubting people are as real as you, not the other way around. You raised the bar for proof of their realness to such a hight that nobody will pass the test but you didn't set the bar an inch off the ground to doubt their realness. Skepticism is ok for certain things, and I don't have to tell you that it's not healthy the way you employ it, and we're not talking about unicorns.

Posted using Partiko Android

You deluded yourself into doubting people are as real as you, not the other way around.

Kinda. I don't hold a certainty that anyone is real. I just assume they are for convenience.

You raised the bar for proof of their realness to such a hight that nobody will pass the test but you didn't set the bar an inch off the ground to doubt their realness.

I don't need a low limit to what I doubt. That's the problem with most philosophical views. And yeah, I think it's probably impossible to prove but I don't know for certain. Maybe someday someone will come holding proof that they exist just as I do. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Skepticism is ok for certain things

Eeeeehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, what. I can be sceptical about whatever I want, lol. r/Gatekeeping. And this is a particularly valid and common preoccupation to be sceptical about. I don't really understand why you think some things are better not thought about. "Just think it's apple juice, it'll be easier, also put some sugar in it ;)"

I don't have to tell you that it's not healthy the way you employ it

I'm not diseased for being sceptical.

and we're not talking about unicorns.

Ehmm, I was talking about unicorns. You really don't like analogies.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09