You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Existential Twist of the NPC MEME: The Fine Line Between Auto-Pilot and Cruise Control

in #meme6 years ago (edited)

You deluded yourself into doubting people are as real as you, not the other way around.

Kinda. I don't hold a certainty that anyone is real. I just assume they are for convenience.

You raised the bar for proof of their realness to such a hight that nobody will pass the test but you didn't set the bar an inch off the ground to doubt their realness.

I don't need a low limit to what I doubt. That's the problem with most philosophical views. And yeah, I think it's probably impossible to prove but I don't know for certain. Maybe someday someone will come holding proof that they exist just as I do. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Skepticism is ok for certain things

Eeeeehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, what. I can be sceptical about whatever I want, lol. r/Gatekeeping. And this is a particularly valid and common preoccupation to be sceptical about. I don't really understand why you think some things are better not thought about. "Just think it's apple juice, it'll be easier, also put some sugar in it ;)"

I don't have to tell you that it's not healthy the way you employ it

I'm not diseased for being sceptical.

and we're not talking about unicorns.

Ehmm, I was talking about unicorns. You really don't like analogies.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Are you skeptical that jumping in the water will get you wet? Is it healthy to be skeptical that cars won't careen through your house?

Posted using Partiko Android

There's a big difference between scepticism and paranoid schizophrenia 🙄

Posted using Partiko Android

Its the same as saying "I doubt people are real" as "I doubt a car won't careen through my house" from the position of "I think its impossible to prove a car won't careen through my house" just as "its impossible to prove other people are real".

Ermm let's not play gatekeepers, you can be skeptical that water will get you wet :-P .

Posted using Partiko Android

Sorry, it's the first time I see the word careen. You're confusing two connotations of doubt. Yes, I cannot be certain at any moment in time, not 100%, that a car won't careen through my house. I can be certain within the limits of my reality that it won't happen. I'm not paranoid about it and if someone asks, I'll just say how unlikely it would be. But but it could happen if the conditions were right, and I obviously don't know if the conditions are right or not for that to happen.

Posted using Partiko Android

It seems you cannot be certain water will get you wet either in the same way that despite the abundant proof of "the realness of others" could simply be a spoof, no matter how unlikely or what a paranoid position that might be you cannot be certain.

Posted using Partiko Android

Real recognize real. Do you doubt your parents' reality or your siblings' your children's? Could you? Can something unreal beget something real, like you?

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you doubt your parents' reality or your siblings' your children's?

of course

Can something unreal beget something real, like you?

nope

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51367.14
ETH 2266.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01