Meet your Mod: Gmuxx!

in #meetyourmods7 years ago

I'm here to support the moderators for Minnow Support Project. I try to show them I appreciate them. I try to help and support them. I try to listen to their requests and alter operations of Minnow Support to reflect what they feel is needed. So, today I'm starting a series on the different mods called "Meet your Mods." We're starting with Gmuxx. He'll get the liquid rewards from the post to help support his trip to Steemfest (he got tickets, but not the whole shebang). I'll delegate the SP to Minnow Support since we're a little short on delegations at the moment.

This took the form of asking questions in a written form and getting written responses. Normally, smaller accounts ask larger accounts to do these interviews to selfishly help them grow (I've tried this tactic muhself), but in this case I'm volunteering this as a service to help the moderators continue to grow their influence on here.

The questions

A: When did you first hear about MSP?

G: I contacted Aggroed regarding finding sponsorship for a competition, and he invited me to Discord. I had no idea what MSP was.

A: Why did you join MSP?

G: I heard about MSP about an hour before the live webinar that held regarding the launch. I attended and made a post about is https://steemit.com/minnowsunite/@swelker101/palnet-part-of-the-minnow-support-project-my-takeaway-from-the-meetings

A: What is the best aspect of MSP?

G: The sense of community and the overwhelming support we give each other.

A: You're a moderator, what does that mean to you?

It gives me an opportunity to help the community, offer advice where I can and hopefully have a positive effect on other Steemians, early in their Steemit career.

A: All the mods have a service project, what's yours?

My original project was to create a podcast. This has since changed with the advent of MSP Waves. Instead, I run @Muxxybot, a curation account that shares minnow content, rewarding featured authors with upvotes on all future posts.

A: How much time do you spend on MSP community related activities?

Until recently I would spend between 12 and 16 hours a day at PALnet, moderating. I have had to try to cut this back to allow more time for personal projects and posts.

A: Why does moderating in PALnet on behalf of the Minnow Support Project matter to you so much?

G: MSP is a jewel in the Steemit ocean, one to be nurtured and cherished. It's very ethos of Peace, Abundance, and Liberty resonates with me, and I am quite protective of the community.

A: MSP is looking to add more channels moderators. Why should someone want to do it?

G: We have a lot of channels, and unfortunately, the moderator team is spread thin trying to oversee them all. If members would like to play their part in helping the community, this is a great way to start.

A: What excites you about Steemit?

G: I am registered disabled and cannot go out to work. Steemit enables me to try to earn a little extra to supplement my family's income for those little extras. Steemit can also have a massive effect around the world in less economically developed countries with the very real possibility of lifting people from poverty.

A: What's your long term vision for Steemit and how do you fit into it?

I would like to eventually see Steemit replace the likes of Facebook and Twitter, giving people a true decentralized, censor free social network - affording users the opportunity to lift their economic standing. I want to be here when the flood comes, guiding new users in the Steemit way.

A: What can MSP be doing better?

We have had recent problems with a small number of members abusing the upvote bots. If we could change the way we handle sign-ups and discourage abuse, then perhaps our genuine members will get a better return on using the bots.

A: How can minnows contribute to the system and grow their accounts?

G: Genuine engagement first and foremost. Make insightful comments under posts, join MSP and get involved in the community. When they do post, make original quality posts. Don't focus on the money, focus on building an engaging following.

A: What else would you like to share?

G: It is a pleasure to help moderate MSP, but please remember that mods are people too and we do this voluntarily. We don't always have the answers, but we will do our hardest to get you the help and advice you need, even if that answer isn't.

A: Gmuxx, you're an extraordinary gentleman and we're extremely luck to have you as a moderator in the Minnow Support Project! Thanks so much for your commitment and service!

Sort:  

I don't call him @gmuxx the Great for nothing. :) He is kind hearted, helpful and extremely dedicated! Like a knight in shining armour. :) And he has a heart of gold!

❤️ thank you very much

@gmuxx is an amazing member of the Steemit Community! Always Helpful, and Supporter of Minnows, a Curator, Radio Host, Moderator, and more! A great Steemian for sure!

Humbled, thanks.

@gmuxx is a great asset to the MSP Team and I am very thankful for his inclusion in this.

Gmuxx is the absolute epitome of Peace, Abundance, and Liberty. He is a treasure to the community.

It's incredible the amount of time all the mods spend on the discord server. I'm grateful for the both the upvotes and the excellent community of the Minnow Support Project.

Thank you very much for your help and support @gmuxx
I wish you a lovely time
I am really interested in a mod position
But I first want to buy my own house and after that I will be able to stay. Home and use Discord all day long
Keep it up

@gmuxx - thanks so much for all your time!!! We really do appreciate what you bring to the community :)

Very kind of you to say so.

Just the truth :)

Have a boat. Muxxy is fantastic and I hope he enjoys steemyfest place muchly.

Thanks for all you do @gmuxx and @aggroed, you are amazing. <3

Muxxy is the best!
(Don't tell The Shane!)

He's a great sidekick!

Likewise dude, much love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60600.18
ETH 2606.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62