Steem City: Connecting People - Why I Love This Network [Mini Meetup In Munich]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #meetup7 years ago (edited)
It's funny how complete strangers can have familiar souls. - J. Iron Word

Yes, it is.

However, it doesn't surprise me that much anymore.

When I attended my very first little Steemit Meetup in New York a couple of months back, I lived the same wonderful situation.

I thought I was going to meet some strangers, but in fact they were much more than that.

There is something that magically connects all of us. No matter who you are or where you come from, you're a Steemian - and that's pretty cool.

Today we proved once more: we're no strangers, we're all Steem Citizens.

Steem connecting @freiheit50, @surfermarly and @uwelang

The global connector

There is this saying that the three things people strive for are love, connection and purpose.

Actually I believe that these three come all together as one package.

We instinctively surround ourselves by the ones we somehow feel connected with, the ones that provide us with love and support our doings, these carefully selected people that unconditionally push us towards our goals. The positive people!

The two times I met some fellow Steemians in person now, I wondered why we didn't find each other earlier.

We're all sitting in the very same boat.

We're all story tellers, creative thinkers and constructors - everybody with a different background and history, but still paddling into the very same direction.

Today I was lucky to meet @freiheit50 and @uwelang in Munich - two amazing gentlemen with a fantastic character, solid beliefs and a great sense of humor. We came together, hugged each other as if we were good old friends and didn't stop talking and laughing for hours. Time was running too fast - as it always does when people are fulfilled - and I bet we would have chatted until the break of dawn if someone had taken away our phones and watches.

Don't use social media to impress but to impact.

Whoever claims that social media is making us less social is kindly invited to join Steem City.

I'm grateful for the social bonds I've already closed through this network - and for the ones that'll be established in the future.

Thank you @freiheit50 and @uwelang for making my day perfect! See you on steemit.

Best,
Marly -

Original content. Quotes both found on pinterest.com (1), pinterest.com (2)

Sort:  

OMG - thanks for enabling me to meet "The Sunshine of Steemit" in real life yesterday @surfermarly - was awesome to catch up finally in person. Gave you a 100% up vote but can not resteem as I look so shitty in that photo brrrr - think I will hide me better moving forward :-)

Thank YOU for coming - it was soooo good to meet you two!!!

Haha, no you don't! I really love the pic, we just look happy - and that's the very truth 😄✌️

Thank you very much for writing this! You didn't simply tell the community that we met and had fun, but you embedded this little story into a philosophical consideration. And I agree 100% with your statements.
Yes, steemit brings people together who have common purposes.
I wish you a nice time in Munich with your family and your friends.

Thanks for your time, I had a blast!!!
We'll go to the Oktoberfest once more today. Not sure if I'm able to drink again, I really suffered a little hangover from our yesterday's beers, haha! Seems that I'm out of training...😆

Nice little Meetup, Upvote & Resteemed.

Thanks a lot! I have invited annother young lady for the next meeting. Probably she will come along.
Marly is a speeker in Lisboa and I suggested her to drink some beer with you there. I found out that she loves this kind of drink.

Ui, vielen lieben Dank für den Support! Christian hat Recht: Bier war lecker. Mal sehen was es in Lissabon gibt 🙂

What a wonderful community we have.

Yes, we do Stephen! We can just travel from one Steemian base to the next and have a great time 🙂

Maybe see you in Australia one day

Oh that's one of my surfer dreams!!! Sure 😊

Lovely sentiments, Marly dear...

I so look forward to meeting you in person one day.

Steem and surf on! Hugs!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Oh, that would be too nice!! 😍
So you don't travel to Steemfest?

Thanks!

No, I wish I could go to Steemfest, but I am struggling right now to "make ends meet." I really need to improve sales of our product and line up more consulting gigs... :O

Does your papa need any high-tech systems for his greenhouses? ;)

Perhaps another Steemfest, one day when I am a Steem millionaire... ;) :D

And then, afterwards, a nice surf with you at gullies.swan.microwave, your favorite beach... :) :) :)

Have a great trip and a good speech and a wonderful time yourself, sweetie! :) I'm cheering for you.

Oh I see you're quite busy!!!
My dad definitely needs high-tech systems from time to time, so I will forward the link to him. Not sure if he's planning on building something new currently, but just in case I'll let you know 😊

I bet we gonna all be steem millionaires in the future!!! So one day we'll have that steemfest beer - after having a nice surf at one of the steem spots. Great plan!!!

Have a wonderful weekend my friend!

Hey, Marly,

Thanks for the encouraging words. I hope your weekend is off to a great start too! :D

Take care, my friend. ;)

This is the reason why I love Steemit.

Me, too!!!! 😊

Resteemed and followed. I love seeing this.
I used to think I was an introvert. But in recent years I've met a handful of people who have taught me that I was just missing the RIGHT associations.

It's a beautiful thing when people of shared values come together.

Yes, it definitely is. I think it's always about finding "the right ones"...😉
Thanks for your support!!

Interesting idea, the meet-ups I mean.

I'll have to see if they are in my neighborhood.

We are everywhere 🙂
I totally recommend it. It's a lot of fun finally meeting the people you've been chatting with for so long.

Thanks - I'll look forward to attending one.

I’ll remind you that getting something out of networking and enjoying the process is up to you. It is up to you to set your mindset and intentions before you go, get curious and be interesting to the people you are talking with and follow up if you want to talk more. I won’t say I have always been perfect at these things, but in general, they are what have made me successful so far in my life.

Isn't everything in life always up to us? 😉

I think not everything but there are a lot of things like high meaning.

Bunch of awesome Steemains! I'm just mad because I want some beer also 🍺🤣

The next time we should have some beers all together 🙂👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53