Super Mini Steemit Meetup :: @jayna, @morodiene, and me

in #meetup6 years ago (edited)

Ok, I know I'm cheating a bit when I include my wife @morodiene in a steemit meetup guest list, but when the group is as small as this was, every warm body counts.

And down here in South Florida, every body is warm. Even my wife's.

We met up with one of my favorite steemit friends, @jayna, an excellent writer who I've known at The Writers Block since forever (forever in steemit time is usually measured in months, but you know what I mean). She had escaped the frosty climate of Minnesota to steal a week in South FL for spring break. She was staying at a fancy place less than an hour away from us, and she suggested we could rendezvous briefly. Coffee? I asked. Sure, she says.


So we found ourselves drinking coffee on some strip mall sidewalk Friday morning, chatting about writing and work and medical things and other people. We didn't have an abundance of time (planes to catch and all that), but it's always a pleasure meeting someone you've known online for a while and having them turn out to be as fun and genuine offline as they are online.

Maybe the next Steemit Meetup can be in Wisconsin (where myself and the wife go in the summer to escape Florida hellheat).


Proof of meetup! Not exactly the most picturesque backdrop, but at least it's not snow.





Photo by @negativer

Join us at The Writers Block on Discord.
A great community of writers there, helping each other get better at what they enjoy doing.

Sort:  

Once you get back up to Wisconsin for the summer, perhaps we could arrange a steemit meetup. I know there's other steemians in Wisconsin, and I'm 100 miles north of Green Bay, so there's possibilities.

Good idea! We're roughly around Wausau, and a good part of my family from Arkansas often comes up in the summer to visit (they are homesteaders/steemit folks too); might be cool to try and think of something in the June/July/August timeframe to match everything up.

Nice, and you look all normal in the foreground, not creepy in the background. 😁

Nobody ever looks GOOD in the background, least of all me. :) Thx!

Since these Steemit meetups seem to be turning into a regular occurrence for you, I'm curious: do you all refer to each other as your handles on Steem (and the block) or do you adjust to use real life names?

One of these days I hope to be present at a meetup. Florida is a long way to go, but we could a warm vacation next winter I'm sure. I could scrounge steemit for Alaskan members, but it certainly would be more fun to meet those I have interacted with (mostly at the block). Alaska is also a very large place.

Ha, good question! I'm interested to know. I only had a steemit-meetup with @diebitch so far, and I did mention her by that name once, but it felt weird pretty soon ;)

Haha, I can imagine that would've been awkward.

That was literally the first question @jayna had for us: what do we call each other. Jayna was easy, since that's her name. I gave her my real name just in case.

I think as long as it doesn't sound too weird saying it out loud, you still use steemit names since that's more familiar. For the meetup we had last week with the larger group, almost everyone called everyone else by their steemit names or a shorthand version of it. (eg, 'Neg').

'Shane' was the exception, since '@swelker101' would be dumb.

The talk about writing is always the talk worth having anytime. Congrats about being the host of the Super Mini Steemit Meetup. It might be fun taking part of SMSM vol 2.0.

The sun is shining ... that is picturesque from where I am sitting. I follow two of the three and so @morodiene consider yourself followed too:)

@morodiene is a bit quieter on steemit at the moment, but hopefully I can drag her back into the fray. Thanks for the follow (on her behalf) :)

<3 Florida meetup's are the best. Everyone should come to florida and meetup with us.

Yes! We're a great group to meet up with.

Again with the meetups. ;) Looks like you guys had a good time. Well, I know if I do ever make it to florida I can count on having at least a mini Steemit meetup. (I have family in Orlando who have been begging me to visit for years so there's more justification for visiting)

This meetup was very last minute, but I'm glad it happened.

Long flight for you to FL, isn't it? Still, if you have family to visit, the distance doesn't matter, right? (Assuming you WANT to see them :)

I dont know how and why..l have just developed a very strong taste for steem promo in recent times..tgis was really a mega one bruh..thanks for sharing @negativer

Hello negativer!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by negativer 🥓 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65