You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing A Community Part 4: SoCalSteemit's 3rd Meetup SoCalSteemitの第3回ミートアップ

in #meetup7 years ago

Hey, thank you so much for organizing this meet up. Im looking forward to getting to know and learn from you all! Seems like for such a diverse group of people, we had a lot of common interests, not just Steemit. Cant wait to see what adventures we cook up. Happy Monday.

Sort:  

Likewise. We may do a Panamint hike/meetup if you and @nutinbutdatruth are interested. Check out @derekrichardson's post about it https://steemit.com/travel/@derekrichardson/death-valley-adventures-panamint-city

I think I need to make a gem & mineral guide for you. You really ended up in an awesome part of California for collecting gems. Happy belated Monday!

We are one hundred thousand percent in! When do we leave, tomorrow? :D Gem and Mineral guide for dummies would be amazing - I really am brand new with this interest! I'm dying to go geode hunting, will I have any luck here?

Geodes are out at Hauser Geode Beds near the Cal/Arizona border. They use to be plentiful, but now it's hit and miss.

If we have another meetup before I leave to Tokyo I will bring some pink halite for you. Read up on Gem O Rama. One of the best mineral shows in California. You can dig for pink halite there.

If (when) we go to Hauser; you will at a minimum find nodules... here is a sample of what we came up with in about an hour about a year ago (and having pretty much no-idea what we where doing).
nodules.jpg

I have a few more i have not cut open, and a couple of larger ones we collected 4-5 years ago...

This one was almost a geode:
almostgeode.jpg

i cannot WAIT! but how did you cut them open? i always end up smashing them to pieces with a hammer...

I think most of the ones in the picture where found as-is... I just cleaned them up. I cut open a couple with a tile saw; but they have to be pretty small to use it (the ones above are golf-ball sized). @rt395 said you just need to join a local rockhound group as they will have a larger rock saw and other tools...

ive seen those things. super cool. i was ecstatic with my finds at the gem faire today in del mar, so i cant even imagine how exciting itll be to find anything on my own.

Ooo... make a post abut your finds... I want to see them!

Thanks for the tips! Arizona is also on the list for a road trip. I need to see the Grand Canyon as an adult. Going to do some research now. I am heading to the Gem Faire in Del Mar this Friday :) How long are your trips to Tokyo, usually?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63622.11
ETH 2505.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67