Women in Business: Making an Impact - Recap

in #meetup6 years ago

Food; checked. Location; checked.

And now to the main event.

20180324-105736_800.jpg

Finally, thanks to @yasminep 's email reminder, with a little bit of almost going to the wrong way, I have come to attend my very first women in business talks.

At first I was just going there for the sake of support; but I also realised it is time to get some extra power-up exposures and re-boot the entrepreneur in me that I have stopped since 2014.

P80324-094439.jpg

I actually do wonder who I was going to meet when I was heading there though I do know some familiar faces are going to pop up, but I have never have a chance to hear stories from women who has made it at the top in Malaysia itself and willing to share their secret of success and their hardship along the way.

P80324-094537.jpg

As I have mentioned from my previous post, I was heading to this (apparently award winning green architecture) new premise, full of anticipation to see actually how many female entrepreneurs are there.

P80324-103231.jpg
yeah, thanks to my cracked front camera, my we-fie shots will have this "glowing ambiance" effect added. Anyone wants to sponsor me a new one?

Lo and behold, I see familiar faces from the #teammalaysia family, including @khimgoh who I already know who is going to be there.

20180324-105120_800.jpg

Along came @natalielo , and we realised that there are a couple more steemians who are here not only for Yasmin but here to listen to others life testimony of their life changing journey.


as my front camera has acted weirdly, I have decided to leave the we-fie shots to the better cameras. This is from @karinzdailygrind

It was so funny when Karin saw my decision to wear the Upvote t-shirt over and said, "why are you wearing this way? This is a ladies event" - as in, where's my pretty feminine dress? haha... I honestly wanted to dress up a little more formal but since I am heading over to @maverickfoo 's Team Malaysia Steemit boot camp, and I am going there to support Yasmine as part of Team Malaysia since my day job is not an entrepreneur; hence this dresscode was my most logical choice as Mr. Spock would have said)

To be honest, I truly respected the panels who took their time to come all the way to share their inspiration stories. Till now I am still trying to sink in what they have shared into my brain to my heart as they genuinely shared their heartfelt experience with great advises.

Not only so, it also makes me ponder on my current journey in my career path and is it time to take things to the next level by faith.

Of course, before leaping, one has to do your homework before plunging into something that you are totally unprepared for it.

There were a few keynote that gave me great reminders where to start a journey, you should finish it. One should not give excuses to just allow one self to let things slide in the name of leisure loving complacent lifestyle.

Anyone who start a business, be it men or women, there will always be sacrifices that one cannot avoid; and from today's panels' sharing, I think mothers who took this step have to make many painful decisions to pursuit what they believe because women are more emotionally wired.

20180324-124224_800.jpg

On a quick end note, I finally could take a picture of the boss of La Juicera, as I was privileged to work as a part time runner (a.k.a delivery woman) during my initial GoGet days.

She is one woman with tons of passion and great energy where you see both feminine stature with strong determination comes together.

There are so many great people I have met and connected, and in the future I will be looking forward to hear even more stories from these fantastic beautiful individuals.

Until then

mini-jess-smile-128.png
Thank You for Your Time

help-promo-a2.png
Please click on the logo to read why I have this project of 1000 SBD at the first place.


Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

A great documentation of the event! Thank you so much for coming to support. Truly fantastic to see you and the other steemians there! :-D
Great to hear you had a good time and the event had an impact on you. I agree, Anabelle is truly something special. Until next time! X

Yes it was an eye opener and it was truly a blessing to hear their stories.

And don't forget we need to meet up before you fly off to your new adventure @yasminep !

PS: Simon said please nudge julia to start posting. haha.

Your post was selected and curated by the @buildawhale and @upmyvote team. You can find the Curation Digest with your post in it here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-03-27-18

Keep up the good work, and thank you for using our services!

Thank you @nicnas ! Really nice of you to have my post featured!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60252.67
ETH 2426.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44