You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Yes, Meditation Can Make You A Worse Person

in #meditation6 years ago (edited)

As you know @dipoabasch featured you in this week's #payitforward contest @pifc.

Oh wow... very valid points. Some people it works some don't. Funny... I am very much into mindfulness. However there is the therapeutic mindfulness and the ancestral mindfulness. It is a great practice for someone who suffers from PTSD and anxiety. In fact, it is the recommended treatment for these issues and has been since it was introduced by Jon Kabat Zinn in the 1970s. The therapeutic version is not designed to detach a person. It is designed to break the negative thought process going on. To break out of being stuck in a past event or getting yourself out of an anxiety or panic Mindfulness is not mediation, even though there are mediations that focus on mindfulness.

The biggest issue with anything that is different from the norm is that people don't research, they take things to the extreme. Expect it to 'change' their lives. Being positive, is kind of a gimme. If you think things are bad all the time, they will be. It is all you are what you think. When I use mediation..it is usually a guided meditation to help me go to sleep. My brain runs 1k mph all the time and doing this at sleep is much better than drugs.

Ultimately, to work on keeping my brain from dwelling and overthinking...I Steemit, paint, play video games and I read. And once you get to know me I am hardly egotistical or narcissistic (sorry I found that part funny).

Still an awesome article and very well researched and put together :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54280.30
ETH 2452.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24