You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introduction to Various Meditations: The Dark Night of the Soul

in #meditation6 years ago

I think people go into meditation looking for peace and happiness. What I found was a very messy room with some scary closets. I had to clean up my life and face those dark closets if I was going to progress on the path of a Bodhisattva. I took bodhisattva vows from my first teacher a Korean Son Monk.

Since I was a kid into my adulthood I had an irrational fear of dark closets. After 5 years of retreat work and integration I no longer fear the dark, especially dark closets and my room is clean.

Cleaning my room, that is cleaning up my life choices took 20 years and a lot of work, depressing work sometimes. But my teachers stressed strong determination and keep watching what happens, don't move. That is what I learned in meditation and have integrated this into my life.

Now I pick up my stuff before I go to bed at night and I don't close my closet door ;)

I did hit a very dark place during my retreat work but I applied the same motto, watch and don't move, it will pass.

One word of warning don't samadhi when you are sleepy and listless. It will strip your HD and make you a drooling idiot if you keep it up!

Sort:  

Many thanks for your story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60