Quiet the mind - #1 series on Meditation:

in #meditation7 years ago (edited)

1 lake-2026014_960_720.jpg
We hear a lot about meditation techniques, breathing; the main thing is when you first learn to meditate and I have been practicing meditation for over 30 years; the main thing is to learn to quiet the mind. This is key no matter which type of meditation you practice.

2 sky-383823__340.jpg

Whether it be guided meditation when you are listening to someone speak, or music, or you are relaxing. You need to quiet your mind. Look at thoughts as being clouds passing by.
Don’t get involved with your thoughts; that’s key. And this will help you quiet your mind.

3 meditate-1851165__340.jpg

So when you first sit you want to be sitting erect.
You can sit on the floor; you can sit in a chair. You can lie down but you may fall asleep. So especially in the beginning you want to try and sit in a position you wouldn’t normally sleep in. And you want to maybe sit in a chair or on a pillow or something and keep your spine erect; close your eyes; gently watch your breathing and look toward the point between the eyes by turning your eyes upward.

Later you won’t have to focus so much on this but you want to quiet your breathing and this will help quiet your mind. As the thoughts come up let them go, because until you actively engage in a thought it has no power.

Relax
Let the breathing be natural, gently breathing in and out.
Let go.
Let go of all the tensions of the day.
All the worries; this is your time to relax.

Here is some relaxing music to get you started.

When I first started meditating I meditated for 5 minutes at a time once a day. Because in the beginning before I ever started meditating I would worry all the time and if I ever found myself not worrying I would worry because I wasn’t worrying.

4 frightened-1172122__340.jpg

Really that is a tough way to live and I always wanted to learn to meditate so I started out with guided meditation. And I still do some of those today because I may what to visualize something I am looking to do at another time.

You can actually give yourself space, peace, and become a calmer happier person. When I feel myself getting tangled up in the world I always resort back to meditation. You can too by closing your eyes, turning them upward and observing your breathing.

We will continue this series and later go over guided meditation with some suggestions for healing, relaxing, and letting go.

We are one and if I am helping you I am helping myself.

Thank you for reading feel free to follow for future postings.

Namaste’
Rebecca Be

Images by pixabay cc

Sort:  

This was really helpful tips !! Thanks for sharing

you are welcome .. you bring me joy by saying that. :)

Thank you for this awesome post ;)
Have you been to a vipassana meditation retreat as well?

no have you? I have been on silent retreat for one week.. lol

yeah I have been to one, it was really an amazing experience ;)
we also had to be silent for 10 days and were mostly just meditating :)

I remember the silent retreat .. we spoke in a different way .. even about others at meals..haha... eyes have it.. went I left my mouth muscles would get sore taling..

P.S. Do not over-enjoy Step 4 - oh never mind!
LMAN.GIF

I am not going to ask...LOL

Meditation is used by moguls to maintain life so it must be beneficial but just don't let the cats out when trying to attempt this ;)

that's right.. have you ever tried to herd wild cats? lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45