~~What Is Meditation?~~

in #meditation7 years ago (edited)


Meditation practice involves the mind and body and has long been used for increasing calmness, peacefulness and physical relaxation, it has also been used for improving and individuals psychological balance, even coping with different types of illness, and most of all enhancing ones overall health and well-being. Meditation practices focus on the connection and balance between the brain, mind, body, the spirit and behavior toward everyday situations.

There are many different types of meditation practices, but most involve four distinct elements : a quiet location; a comfortable posture (sitting, lying down, walking); focusing ones of attention ( using mantra or a chosen word or set of words, focusing on an object, or paying close attention to the way of the breath); as well as an open attitude and mind (letting the distractions come, acknowledging them and then letting them go naturally without judgement).

~What's the Bottom Line on Meditation?~

How much do we really know about the practice of meditation?

Many studies have to look at how meditation practice may be helpful for many different mental and physical conditions, such as high blood pressure, certain psychological disorders, pain and more. Some studies have even helped researchers learn just how meditation practice might work and its affects the brain.

What do we know about how effective meditation practice really is?

Research has shown that meditation practice reduces blood pressure, symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome, anxiety and depression, insomnia, and more. Some studies have shown its effectiveness on pain management…..although it may not work for every individual that uses it.

What do we know about the safety of meditation?

Meditation is considered to be safe for healthy people. People with physical limitations may not be able to participate in certain types of meditative practices involving movement. If an individual wishes to use meditation they should look into many different types and talk to a health care professional about what type might be best.

Sort:  

You inspire me to meditate. I always get up every morning with the intention that I will take time that day to do so but I rarely manage to actually meditate. Although, I must say that I find walking my dogs in my 'happy place' something of a meditation. I try to remain very present and peaceful, enjoying the time with my pups and the amazing scenery. Thank you for doing what you do Lori. You are an inspiration!

I am so happy you get to have time in your "happy place". It so very important that we take time to enjoy and find a peacefulness within us amongst the chaos all around us. I find walking whether it be alone or with my dogs a very relaxing, mind settling activity. My mind is on the scenery, the smells and the sounds of the moment.....and that is a very grounding experience....

I have to agree with @lindasymonds- you have really motivated me to concentrate on my meditation practice again. I've found in the past it has benefited me so much but life gets in the way sometimes and it feels like there is always something else that needs to be done! I am going to make it a priority again to focus on mindfulness. Thank you for your inspiring post 😊

I really appreciate the positive feedback.....I love sharing my love of meditation and mindfulness with others as well as learning form them......
You are more then welcome and I wish you all the best and send good thoughts and vibes your way <3

Thank you for Sharing,
Hope you love famous quotes,
from Albert Einstein : Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile.

I do very much.....I post many quotes on Facebook and always enjoy looking for more :-)

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

I am very new to all of this and as of yet have not figured out how to do this.....any suggestions would be gratefully appreciated :-) :-)

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98